Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-04-05 07:05:51

elothas

Switching categories in Whisker Menu by using keyboard tab key.

Greetings all.

I've been using Linux Mint for a few years. I recently installed version 18.3.

Problem is, tab doesn't work when I want to switch from one category to another in Whisker Menu. I looked in all settings and haven't found anything for this.My keyboard is fine.When I had version 17.3 installed in my laptop, I was able to tab from one category to another without any problems.I want to be clear about categories: Favorites, Recently Used, All,Accessories,Chromium Apps ,Games,Graphics,Internet,Multimedia............etc.

Nick E.H.

#2 2018-04-05 10:49:43

alcornoqui

Re: Switching categories in Whisker Menu by using keyboard tab key.

What version of Whisker Menu? Tab works for me with:

$ xfce4-popup-whiskermenu -V
xfce4-popup-whiskermenu 1.5.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Graeme Gott

#3 2018-04-05 13:40:05

Jerry3904

And it sort of works here on the version after that (need Tab then Return)

$ apt policy xfce4-whiskermenu-plugin 
xfce4-whiskermenu-plugin:
  Installed: 1.7.5-0.1~mx17+1

MX-23 (based on Debian Stable) with our flagship Xfce 4.18.

#4 2018-04-05 22:59:21

MountainDewManiac

There was some talk in one of the reports filed at Bugzilla about someone wanting to be able to use the right- and left-arrow keys to move from one category to another, if I remember correctly. And - again, IIRC - there might have been a patch posted. It is probably unlikely even if I am remembering correctly, because it was an old post - but have you tried those two keys to see if the navigation has been changed to use them, possibly by one of the Mint developers?

I am only suggesting the possibility because it strikes me that this change would allow one to move completely around in the Whisper menu with only one hand.

I just found the report that I was thinking above. In it, the developer stated: