Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-06 21:24:24

DFDark
Member
Registered: 2018-11-06
Posts: 3

Mirror for only 1 monitor [2 monitors & 1 projector]

Hello,

I recently migrated to xubuntu (xfce4.12), and currently I'm trying to setup same screen configuration I had in win7. I would like to have my 2 monitors as extended desktop (so far so good) but I want projector to mirror only single monitor. Problem is when I check "mirror" it sets all my screens as 1. Can it be done?

Monitors are HDMI & DVI and Projector is DP. (Resolution for all of them is 1920x1080)

Offline

#2 2018-11-07 03:46:52

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 4,755

Re: Mirror for only 1 monitor [2 monitors & 1 projector]

What would the physical layout look like? Something like:

HDMI  ---   DVI   ---   Projector(DVI mirror)

If so, try:

xrandr --output HDMI --output DVI --output DP --same-as DVI

The Display applet won't let you do this in 4.12. There have been some recent adjustments to this applet that will be released in 4.14 that might address it (I don't currently have multiple monitors to test it).

Offline

#3 2018-11-07 17:04:42

DFDark
Member
Registered: 2018-11-06
Posts: 3

Re: Mirror for only 1 monitor [2 monitors & 1 projector]

Thanks. It worked.

Although I noticed funny behaviour. When I did that since DP (projector) was in the middle (extended display) and has suddenly "disappeared" screen space 1920~3840x0~1080) which it occupied was suddenly gone. (Solved simply by moving displays in xfce4-display-settings and executing the command again) Is this bug? Should it be submitted somewhere?

Offline

#4 2018-11-07 17:22:36

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 4,755

Re: Mirror for only 1 monitor [2 monitors & 1 projector]

There have been significant changes to this module since the version that you have. If you could test it with the latest development version, and if the bug persists, then I would say yes, create a bug report. Otherwise, if you have a workaround you can wait until the new Xfce 4.14 is released and test it again then.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB