Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-15 00:06:01

spaz

Backup all XFCE config files ( Keyboard Shortcuts etc )

Hi all.
Excuse my ignorance of this topic.
I am just wondering if there is a way to backup / export all XFCE config settings (particularly all the window manager shortcuts I have created ).

If it is in the documentation, I don't seem to be able to find it easily.

As I am quite new to linux,
I am doing quite a few fresh OS installs + reinstalls, to find what works best on various systems / computers.
Thus, I it gets bothersome to have to keep spending 15 minutes punching in the same keyboard shortcuts and various other settings each time.

I am aware of "Panel switch", but this only seems to export the panel settings as far as I can tell?

Thank you, sorry if the answer is obvious.

=====================

EDIT :
After a bit more digging , it looks like this in the FAQ.

"Q: How can I see a list of all the shortcut keys?
Use the following command, which will produce a nicely formatted text list to standard output:

xfconf-query -c xfce4-keyboard-shortcuts -l -v | cut -d'/' -f4 | awk '{printf "%30s", $2; print "\t" $1}' | sort | uniq
If you want to put this list into a file, add > filename at the end of command.

"

Okay, so I can export that to a file.
Is there a way I can edit this as a text file, and import this ?

Thanks !

Last edited by spaz (2019-02-15 00:22:57)

#2 2019-02-15 00:22:09

ToZ
Administrator

Re: Backup all XFCE config files ( Keyboard Shortcuts etc )

Hello and welcome.

See if this post helps. Feel free to ask any follow-up questions.

Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

#3 2019-02-15 08:20:24

Skaperen