Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-04-20 09:10:13

daunbailo
Member
Registered: 2015-11-22
Posts: 19

Issue with F4 and Terminal in 19.04

Hi,
just upgrades my Xubuntu 18.10 to 19.04.
No one of these shortcuts works in Thunar:

Added F4 accelerator to open a Terminal in Thunar (LP #1793395)
Added Ctrl + Shift + F accelerator to open Catfish File Search from Thunar (LP #1793395)
Added Shift + Print accelerator to capture a region screenshot (LP #1812234)

How can I do?
Thanks!

Offline

#2 2019-04-20 10:49:17

ondondil
Member
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: Issue with F4 and Terminal in 19.04

The new shortcuts for Thunar have been implemented as custom actions and you cannot use them because Thunar respects your old configuration file from previous Xubuntu version. You could remove your current configuration and let Thunar automatically recreate it. In order to do that run:

rm ~/.config/Thunar/*

Log out and log in. Shortcuts should work now.
But keep in mind that this will remove your current custom actions, if you have any, and replace them with the default ones. If you have defined your own custom actions and you want to keep them then first create backup copy of ~/.config/Thunar/uca.xml in different directory and remove the contents of ~/.config/Thunar/ directory after that. Then relog. Once you do this, add one dummy custom action via GUI (in order to force Thunar to recreate uca.xml file, you can remove this custom action later) and copy your old custom actions from your old uca.xml to new uca.xml

Offline

#3 2019-04-20 10:51:40

Spass
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2016-12-07
Posts: 121
Website

Re: Issue with F4 and Terminal in 19.04

daunbailo, Shift+Print is a global shortcut, not Thunar specific. It doesn't work either?

Offline

#4 2019-04-20 11:32:59

daunbailo
Member
Registered: 2015-11-22
Posts: 19

Re: Issue with F4 and Terminal in 19.04

ondondil wrote:

The new shortcuts for Thunar have been implemented as custom actions and you cannot use them because Thunar respects your old configuration file from previous Xubuntu version. You could remove your current configuration and let Thunar automatically recreate it. In order to do that run:

rm ~/.config/Thunar/*

Log out and log in. Shortcuts should work now.
But keep in mind that this will remove your current custom actions, if you have any, and replace them with the default ones. If you have defined your own custom actions and you want to keep them then first create backup copy of ~/.config/Thunar/uca.xml in different directory and remove the contents of ~/.config/Thunar/ directory after that. Then relog. Once you do this, add one dummy custom action via GUI (in order to force Thunar to recreate uca.xml file, you can remove this custom action later) and copy your old custom actions from your old uca.xml to new uca.xml

ok, after you tip F4 now it works!

Offline

#5 2019-04-20 11:34:12

daunbailo
Member
Registered: 2015-11-22
Posts: 19

Re: Issue with F4 and Terminal in 19.04

Spass wrote:

daunbailo, Shift+Print is a global shortcut, not Thunar specific. It doesn't work either?

it don't.

Offline

#6 2019-04-20 23:21:26

Spass
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2016-12-07
Posts: 121
Website

Re: Issue with F4 and Terminal in 19.04

daunbailo wrote:
Spass wrote:

daunbailo, Shift+Print is a global shortcut, not Thunar specific. It doesn't work either?

it don't.

You can use this command to add that shortcut to your system:

xfconf-query -c xfce4-keyboard-shortcuts -p '/commands/custom/<Shift>Print' -n -t string -s 'xfce4-screenshooter -r'

Offline

#7 2019-05-02 21:42:49

tp0
Member
Registered: 2019-05-02
Posts: 1

Re: Issue with F4 and Terminal in 19.04

Probably a faster workaround is just add these custom actions, which won't reset any of your old configurations:

For "open in terminal":

exo-open --working-directory %f --launch TerminalEmulator

For find/Catfish:

catfish --path=%F

Name can be anything you want, description is optional, [x] Use startup notification, on 'Appearance conditions' tab: [x] Directories

These are exactly the same commands as what you would get by default.

ps. The release notes are badly written as it is implied these would be built-in shortcut keys. I also wondered why they're not working only to find out I'm already using the same custom actions.

Last edited by tp0 (2019-05-02 21:47:41)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB