Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-09 17:07:57

dids22
Member
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 7

problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

hey

i`m not sure what couse  the problem but now i can`t write in terminal
hare a cs
http://img374.imageshack.us/my.php?imag … ot1zl5.png

reinstall - didn`t help
delete  terminal config file -didn`t help too

there is a chance that the problem is something with the locale?

ho, i`m using arch linux disro`

thanks!!

Offline

#2 2007-08-09 19:20:36

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

Screenshot doesn't work....

Offline

#3 2007-08-09 22:09:43

dids22
Member
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 7

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

Offline

#4 2007-08-10 18:26:44

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

Mm kinda weird, since i'm using Arch too and it has no permission problems. You can try the command 'vte', maybe that gives more information or select the 'run command as login shell' checkbox in the terminal config. Does terminal give any warning/errors?

Offline

#5 2007-08-11 17:33:49

dids22
Member
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 7

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

about vte - http://img528.imageshack.us/my.php?imag … ot1ue4.png

i dont see the command "run command as login shell" in terminal config file

this is the config file

[Configuration]
AccelNewTab=<control><shift>t
AccelNewWindow=<control><shift>n
AccelDetachTab=<control><shift>d
AccelCloseTab=<control><shift>w
AccelCloseWindow=<control><shift>q
AccelCopy=<Control>c
AccelPaste=<Control>v
AccelEditHelpers=Disabled
AccelPreferences=Disabled
AccelShowMenubar=Disabled
AccelShowToolbars=Disabled
AccelShowBorders=Disabled
AccelFullscreen=F11
AccelSetTitle=Disabled
AccelReset=Disabled
AccelResetAndClear=Disabled
AccelPrevTab=<control>Page_Up
AccelNextTab=<control>Page_Down
AccelSwitchToTab1=<Alt>1
AccelSwitchToTab2=<Alt>2
AccelSwitchToTab3=<Alt>3
AccelSwitchToTab4=<Alt>4
AccelSwitchToTab5=<Alt>5
AccelSwitchToTab6=<Alt>6
AccelSwitchToTab7=<Alt>7
AccelSwitchToTab8=<Alt>8
AccelSwitchToTab9=<Alt>9
AccelContents=F1
BackgroundMode=TERMINAL_BACKGROUND_TRANSPARENT
BackgroundImageFile=
BackgroundImageStyle=TERMINAL_BACKGROUND_STYLE_SCALED
BackgroundDarkness=0.342742
BindingBackspace=TERMINAL_ERASE_BINDING_AUTO
BindingDelete=TERMINAL_ERASE_BINDING_AUTO
ColorForeground=White
ColorBackground=Black
ColorCursor=Green
ColorSelection=White
ColorSelectionUseDefault=TRUE
ColorPalette1=#000000000000
ColorPalette2=#aaaa00000000
ColorPalette3=#0000aaaa0000
ColorPalette4=#aaaa55550000
ColorPalette5=#00000000aaaa
ColorPalette6=#aaaa0000aaaa
ColorPalette7=#0000aaaaaaaa
ColorPalette8=#aaaaaaaaaaaa
ColorPalette9=#555555555555
ColorPalette10=#ffff55555555
ColorPalette11=#5555ffff5555
ColorPalette12=#ffffffff5555
ColorPalette13=#55555555ffff
ColorPalette14=#ffff5555ffff
ColorPalette15=#5555ffffffff
ColorPalette16=#ffffffffffff
CommandUpdateRecords=TRUE
CommandLoginShell=FALSE
FontAllowBold=TRUE
FontAntiAlias=TRUE
FontName=Monospace 12
MiscAlwaysShowTabs=FALSE
MiscBell=FALSE
MiscBordersDefault=TRUE
MiscCursorBlinks=FALSE
MiscDefaultGeometry=80x24
MiscInheritGeometry=FALSE
MiscMenubarDefault=TRUE
MiscMouseAutohide=FALSE
MiscToolbarsDefault=FALSE
MiscConfirmClose=TRUE
MiscCycleTabs=TRUE
MiscTabCloseButtons=TRUE
MiscTabPosition=GTK_POS_TOP
ScrollingBar=TERMINAL_SCROLLBAR_RIGHT
ScrollingLines=1000
ScrollingOnOutput=TRUE
ScrollingOnKeystroke=TRUE
ShortcutsNoMenukey=FALSE
ShortcutsNoMnemonics=FALSE
TitleInitial=Terminal
TitleMode=TERMINAL_TITLE_APPEND
Term=xterm
VteWorkaroundTitleBug=TRUE
WordChars=-A-Za-z0-9,./?%&#38;#:_~
HelperWebbrowser=firefox
HelperMailreader=exo-open-mailer

Offline

#6 2007-08-12 07:42:52

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

The CommandLoginShell one.

Offline

#7 2007-08-12 20:02:27

dids22
Member
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 7

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

i changed it to "TRUE" but nothing happened  :-X

Offline

#8 2007-08-13 18:20:58

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

Well I have no idea then, but the problem is definitely vte (also used by Terminal).

Offline

#9 2007-08-14 14:59:24

dids22
Member
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 7

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

how did you get for this conclusion?

Offline

#10 2007-08-14 15:29:47

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

Because vte gives an empty window too, and vte is the emulator used by terminal.

Offline

#11 2007-08-14 20:12:15

dids22
Member
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 7

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

reinstall didn`t help - where is the configuration file of vte?

thank you!!

Offline

#12 2007-08-15 17:15:33

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

Vte has no config file. The vte app is a test appication of the vte widget (that is used by vte). Maybe you have some default terminal problems, no bash installed or no terminal variable (if you use a replacement for bash).

Offline

#13 2007-08-15 20:59:17

dids22
Member
Registered: 2007-08-09
Posts: 7

Re: problem with xfce4 terminal [solved]

the case has been solved - i uncomment the line in /etc/fstab to mount devpts

bro  thanks you anyway !!  ^-^

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB