Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-11-05 11:21:08

pointyblue

How to create new desktop icons?

Hi,

I'm new to Xfce, please excuse me for asking this probably pretty lame question!  lol

I need to create icons for my favourite applications to place on the desktop. In Ubuntu/Gnome I just locate the application in the applications menu and then right click to create a desktop icon. Or I can simply drag the icon to the desktop.

But in Xubuntu/Xfce this appoach doesn't seem to work. Can you please help me figure out how this is done in Xfce?

Thanks!  smile

#2 2008-11-05 12:31:47

eriefisher

Re: How to create new desktop icons?

First you have to enable desktop icons in menu>>settings>>desktop settings>>behaver.

Then go to /usr/share/applications and find the app you want. Just simply drag it to the desktop.

Siduction
Debian Sid
Xfce 4.18

#3 2008-11-17 20:19:05

aszabo

Hi,

I dragged some files from /usr/share/applications to the desktop but I see that these icons have for type as text/plain and when I click them with mouse a text editor pops up instead of running. What did I make wrong?

Thanks for the reply.

#4 2009-02-07 21:48:48

vinoman7

How would you add icons to the taskbar ?

#5 2009-06-03 10:40:10

ptyxs

Is it impossible to add an application icon on the taskbar ??
If not, how ??

#6 2009-06-04 01:44:52

crimesaucer

The taskbar in Linux is actually called the 'panel'. To add icons that open programs to the panel you need to add a 'Launcher'. You then configure it yourself with the command used to run the program and the path of the icon location.

It seems difficult but it's not. I really like the 'Launchers' because I can add different commands to open folders that I use, or even Firefox to a web page address. The command is 'exo-open' and then add the location like this:

exo-open /etc

or:

exo-open /usr/share/themes

This is the xfce4-panel with Launchers (on the bottom, the top panel is only using xfce4-panel-plugins):