Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-03 21:13:13

wlkngowl
Member
From: Between Heaven and Earth
Registered: 2005-11-11
Posts: 77

Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

I preferred the Xfce 4.4 menu that just listed applications. Now the applications are in a submenu. Is there a way to get back the old style menu without using the xfce4-popup-menu (which just launches the menu from the panel, rather than where the mouse pointer is)?

Offline

#2 2009-03-04 10:56:41

s0ulslack
Moderator
From: Idaho
Registered: 2005-12-25
Posts: 291

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

Disabling the Desktop Icons will achieve the original menu

Offline

#3 2009-03-04 12:42:30

xaff
Member
Registered: 2009-03-03
Posts: 2

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

Strange, I had them disabled and still got that popup menu. After I enabled icons and disabled them again, it finally works old-style.

Offline

#4 2009-03-04 16:09:07

wlkngowl
Member
From: Between Heaven and Earth
Registered: 2005-11-11
Posts: 77

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

Yes, that seems to work.

On one machine, I also had the old style menu until I fiddled with the options.

Offline

#5 2009-03-11 18:24:42

manji
Member
Registered: 2009-03-11
Posts: 2

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

Hi, I'm having the same problems. Is there a way to use the old 4.4 menu instead of the new one? I want to keep my desktop icons so I need to find an other way to customize the menu then the one mentioned above.
Does anyone know how to do this? I'm also having problems with the font size of my xfce clock, but the menu has higher priority for me ;-)

Offline

#6 2009-03-11 21:34:14

wlkngowl
Member
From: Between Heaven and Earth
Registered: 2005-11-11
Posts: 77

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

I don't believe there's a way t keep your old 4.4 menu, let alone the just the menu and desktop icons.

You should start a separate thread about the clock. It's an unrelated issue.

Offline

#7 2009-03-12 07:18:52

s0ulslack
Moderator
From: Idaho
Registered: 2005-12-25
Posts: 291

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

manji, indeed you should have started another thread tongue

Check http://wiki.xfce.org/howto/customize-menu on customizing the menu, its not too bad.  Some type of menu editor will be in 4.8 though.  As for the font problem, try xfce4-datetime-plugin.

Offline

#8 2009-03-12 15:14:57

manji
Member
Registered: 2009-03-11
Posts: 2

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

Customizing the application menu is not the problem, but I want to get rid of the "top-level" menu. Is there realy no way to do this?
Btw.: Solved the clock problem by changing to orage ;-)

Offline

#9 2009-03-20 06:13:47

wlkngowl
Member
From: Between Heaven and Earth
Registered: 2005-11-11
Posts: 77

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

To get rid of the top menu, go to Desktop and disable desktop icons.

Offline

#10 2009-04-06 04:09:16

mtp
Member
Registered: 2009-04-06
Posts: 1

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

It would be nice to have a way to "invert" the right-click menu, such that the Applications become top-level and the Create/etc stuff are in a submenu. However, I can live without desktop icons, so I just turned them off.

Offline

#11 2009-04-06 09:50:41

Villain
Member
Registered: 2009-03-31
Posts: 15

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

manji wrote:

Customizing the application menu is not the problem, but I want to get rid of the "top-level" menu. Is there realy no way to do this?

At least there appears to be no way to do this without switching to minimized application icons, or disabling them altogether.


[img]http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w195/nextue/ah6rft5ysa7b527pu.gif[/img]

Offline

#12 2009-04-07 02:18:10

jbs1136
Member
Registered: 2009-03-29
Posts: 10

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

I can live without the icons on the desktop also but there are a couple that I would really like to see there.  Is there anyway around this restriction?  Why do we have to give up the icons in order to get rid of top layer menu which just adds more steps to everything?

john

Offline

#13 2009-04-07 05:07:02

etnlWings
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 218

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

jbs1136 wrote:

Why do we have to give up the icons in order to get rid of top layer menu which just adds more steps to everything?

With 4.6 they focussed on making xfdesktop a lot more complete, which meant a context menu suitable to the task of managing folders/files/launchers on the desktop. Admittedly it'd be nice if they included a manual option in the desktop configuration dialogue, though.

Offline

#14 2009-04-15 12:37:19

mit_service
Member
Registered: 2009-04-15
Posts: 1

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

I just registered to post this here:
Please add at least an option to xfdesktop to disable the new desktop menu.
For me the new menu is almost completely useless. The quick selection of applications is no longer possible.
I do not have the a xfce-menu button in my panel so I just use the desktop menu.

Also: starting an application is the far more common use-case than e.g. creating a new starter on the desktop.

On the other hand: desktop icons are quite convenient.
For now I will just disable the desktop icons because it makes the menu at least usable, but please think of users that rely on the desktop applications menu.

Offline

#15 2009-04-22 03:28:15

cockroach
Member
Registered: 2009-04-22
Posts: 1

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

+1 for having desktop icons + the (old) application menu

Offline

#16 2009-04-26 04:16:55

Elviswind
Member
Registered: 2007-10-14
Posts: 3

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

For anyone that's dim like me, disabling the desktop icons means going to the Desktop settings window, switching to the Icons tab, and selecting "None" from the Icon type drop down box, not deselecting the Default Icons from the selection box.  ;D

And I'll add that I agree with everyone that's disappointed with the mutual exclusivity of having the Xfce applications menu display at the top level of a mouse click on the desktop and having desktop icons.  In my opinion, quick access to the applications menu via a click on the desktop is a major feature of Xfce and should always be given precedence over any other enhancement to the desktop.

Offline

#17 2009-05-07 03:50:46

mykey
Member
Registered: 2009-03-01
Posts: 1

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

unfortunately IMHO the menu policy of version 4.6 is completely useless - I rather stick to version 4.4.3 - there was a proof of concept of a different approach on the mailinglist already but if things will not move to a more customizable approach my favorite desktop environment will definitely change  ;D

Offline

#18 2009-05-17 21:28:50

grundler
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 1

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

You can get rid of the top level menu:

    xfconf-query -c xfce4-desktop -p /desktop-icons/style -s 0

Works for me.  I found the command on:
    http://bimma.me.uk/2009/04/25/how-to-xf … 04-jaunty/

Use without "-s 0" to see current value. It should be 2 by default (original behavior).

Offline

#19 2009-05-18 00:28:08

reisio
Member
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 12

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

grundler wrote:

xfconf-query -c xfce4-desktop -p /desktop-icons/style -s 0

This does, of course, just disable the desktop icons, which has already been presented as a way to get the old menu back (at a price).

Offline

#20 2009-05-20 18:06:58

robnormal
Member
Registered: 2009-05-20
Posts: 1

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

cockroach wrote:

+1 for having desktop icons + the (old) application menu

Make that +2.

I just registered on this forum to express how important this feature is to me. The new menu is a productivity killer, and I think we clearly need an option to have the old-style menu instead.

Offline

#21 2009-05-28 12:21:54

FrancisT
Member
Registered: 2009-05-20
Posts: 7

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

robnormal wrote:
cockroach wrote:

+1 for having desktop icons + the (old) application menu

Make that +2.

I just registered on this forum to express how important this feature is to me. The new menu is a productivity killer, and I think we clearly need an option to have the old-style menu instead.

+3 ...

Offline

#22 2009-05-28 14:32:50

Wapush
Member
Registered: 2006-12-14
Posts: 140

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

Hi

Bugzilla is the place to make such request.

Offline

#23 2009-05-29 10:10:32

El_Angelo
Administrator
Registered: 2004-11-09
Posts: 666

Re: Xfce 4.6 xfdesktop --menu

http://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=5054

I closed it becuase this has been discussed over and over again... If you don't like the new config... use something else.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB