Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-30 16:14:43

M4rc0
Member
Registered: 2009-08-09
Posts: 6

[SOLVE] hostname problem

Hello,

First, I'm not sure if this problem is Fedora or XFCE related. But as my hostname is working this could be a XFCE bug or something.

When I log in i get this message:

"Could not lookup internet address for "leonidas", this will prevent XFCE of working properly(...)"

This is my /etc/hosts:

127.0.0.1   leonidas localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.0.103 leonidas leonidas.localdomain leonidas

I'm using XFCE 4.6 with Fedora 11

I already created a topic over fedoraforum but maybe some user could help me out here.

I just need to know what is wrong with the file.
If someone could paste your /etc/hosts so I could compare, I would appreciate.

Offline

#2 2009-08-30 17:39:52

Nimless
Member
Registered: 2009-08-30
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVE] hostname problem

Hi!

I don't have the second line you posted in my /etc/hosts

127.0.0.1    test     localhost.localdomain    localhost
127.0.1.1    test

Offline

#3 2009-09-06 09:18:05

M4rc0
Member
Registered: 2009-08-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVE] hostname problem

Hello Nimless,

That did not help me either.

Does anyone else has this problem on XFCE?

This seems like a bug and I would like to confirm..

Offline

#4 2009-09-06 15:03:42

Pindakoe
Member
From: NL
Registered: 2003-11-26
Posts: 110

Re: [SOLVE] hostname problem

@M4rc0: I do not know whether it is wise to have two definitions for leonidas -- your /etc/hosts translates it to both 127.0.0.1 and 192.168.0.103. Can you change one of them or comment out and test?

Offline

#5 2009-09-06 18:36:19

M4rc0
Member
Registered: 2009-08-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVE] hostname problem

Pindakoe wrote:

@M4rc0: I do not know whether it is wise to have two definitions for leonidas -- your /etc/hosts translates it to both 127.0.0.1 and 192.168.0.103. Can you change one of them or comment out and test?

Hello Pindakoe,

I agree. Actually I added that line because of this Xfce error, so it was after this started.

This is my /etc/hosts now:

#5.110.192.199 leonidas
127.0.0.1 leonidas localhost.localdomain localhost localhost4 localhost4.localdomain4
::1 localhost localhost.localdomain localhost6 localhost6.localdomain6

The second line is for ipv6, not so useful but that's what it comes with Fedora's standard /etc/hosts.

Note that I can find "leonidas" from other computers, and all other programs does take it leonidas as hostname, like bluetooth etc..

So I think this should be right. I just don't know how to fix it for Xfce.

Offline

#6 2009-09-11 07:06:38

M4rc0
Member
Registered: 2009-08-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVE] hostname problem

Another simplified /etc/hosts:

Got this one from a fresh Fedora install in a different computer, so this file can't be wrong.

127.0.0.1  localhost.localdomain localhost HOSTNAME
::1  localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6

It has to be a XFCE issue. Has anyone else got the same problem?

Offline

#7 2009-09-12 08:40:03

M4rc0
Member
Registered: 2009-08-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVE] hostname problem

Hi!

I've solved this and the problem was NOT XFCE.

While everything was pointing to be XFCE, in the end I found out that my system didn't have the nss-mdns 64 bit package.
In other words, a Fedora bug tongue

Just in case someone else runs into this.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB