Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-29 20:45:34

RobtWB

Desktop Environment?

Thank you XFCE developers and contributors. I've been a Linux user since the mid-90's, back when KDE was just starting and a new kid named "Gnome" came along. Personally not caring about the politics of toolkits, I chose KDE and have been a user for about 15 years. I use a computer to do historical and genealogical research, for me it's just a tool for finding and organizing information; I'm not a programmer or hacker or someone interested in the nuts and bolts of how it all works, I just need it to work.

When KDE made the leap from 3.5 to 4, it was too much for the machine I had at that time to handle, so I had to look for alternatives and settled on Gnome 2. Through the past few years and several "performance improvements" in KDE 4 I've tried to go back, but while the interface may have improved in speed, it's more than a bit weighted down by the semantic background, and while I have a newer, faster computer, it still takes more than half my 2 gigs of memory just to run the desktop and it's background processes. I finally threw in the towel and switched to Gnome. Then Gnome 3 came along...

Perhaps it's me, but how does taking away half of his tools help a mechanic do his job? That's how I see Gnome 3. They tout the "unobtrusive" as a better way of doing things, that you have a "cleaner" environment to work in. I akin that to someone going to a repair shop and taking the top toolbox off a mechanic's set and setting it on the other side of a maze, then telling him he now has this nice, clean surface to work on. True, but half his tools are gone! "Not really" they say, all you have to do is navigate this maze and you can get any tool you need. Is this logical, or is it just me?