Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-08 00:05:04

mumblyjoe
Member
Registered: 2014-04-07
Posts: 2

How to pass function key F10 to an application

Here's what I've tried so far:

1) In the XFce settings-manager there are two places where you can map keys - "window manager" and "keyboard". Neither one lists a mapping for F10.

2) Per a doc on the web, I created .config/gtk-3.0/gtk.css and put the following into it, but no luck

@binding-set NoKeyboardNavigation {
unbind “F10″
}

* {
gtk-key-bindings: NoKeyboardNavigation
}

Offline

#2 2014-04-08 00:08:22

mumblyjoe
Member
Registered: 2014-04-07
Posts: 2

Re: How to pass function key F10 to an application

Apologies, your forum software messed up my post. Here's the part that got lost:

OS: Fedora 18

Window manager: XFce 4.10

I'm using the Dell iDRAC6 console (Java goo) to manage a Dell R910. I'm supposed to be able to get into the BIOS on the R910 if I hit F10 at the right time in the boot process. Unfortunately, the window manager catches the key-press and displays the application file-menu instead. How do I get xfce to pass that keystroke through to the application?

Offline

#3 2014-04-09 00:40:07

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 1,238

Re: How to pass function key F10 to an application

Having spent some time investigating this, it looks like F10 is now hard-coded in GTK to bring up the menu and cannot be bypassed. It looks like at one point in time you could bypass it, but that functionality has been removed.

Not sure what "Java goo" is (java gui?), but perhaps there is a way through there to map another keystroke to send F10?

Online

#4 2014-06-11 17:04:32

Coder
Member
Registered: 2014-06-11
Posts: 2

Re: How to pass function key F10 to an application

Clearing MenuBarAccel works in XFCE 4.10. Use xfce Settings Editor, xsetting->Gtk->MenuBarAccel setting.

See: https://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?pid=33205#p33205

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB