Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-08-09 15:26:40

johnbeech

Trouble with F.lux or Redshift for night-time computing

Hi,

I'm new to XFCE and I can't get my favourite program running. f.lux. It turns the turn temperature of the monitor down, so it doesnt strain my eyes.  https://justgetflux.com/ I also tried Redshift http://jonls.dk/redshift/ but this didnt work either.

Has anyone got one of these programs running and can help me install them?

XFCE 4.10 distributed by Xubuntu (running on Ubuntu 14.04)
Intel i7-4770 with onboard Intel graphics
Nvidea GTX750 Ti but it's NOT IN USE IN LINUX (just windows)

When I run redshift from the terminal with $ redshift -gtk , I get the following

Trying location provider `geoclue'...
Started Geoclue provider `Geoclue Master'.
Using provider `geoclue'.
According to the geoclue provider we're at: 43.53, -80.25
Gamma ramp size too small: 0
Failed to start adjustment method randr.
Trying next method...
Using method `vidmode'.

which doesn't actually do anything. I guess vidmode doesnt work on my computer?

Last edited by johnbeech (2014-08-09 15:31:30)

#2 2014-08-09 17:09:13

ToZ
Administrator

Re: Trouble with F.lux or Redshift for night-time computing

Gamma ramp size too small: 0
Failed to start adjustment method randr.

I don't believe this is an issue with Xfce. Mostly likely, your video driver doesn't support gamma corrections properly. There is a launchpad question here that discusses this problem with some tests to determine if the video driver supports gamma corrections.

Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

#3 2014-08-09 20:33:24

johnbeech

The thing is, I had flux working on the Unity desktop 14.04 before I installed Xfce. Does xfce replace any graphics drivers or something?