Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2006-12-09 01:50:04

galctus51
Member
Registered: 2006-12-09
Posts: 2

Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

Hi folks!

So, I'm Running Debian Etch. I've made a basic install and later installed XFCE and some others applications. But the problems is that XFCE don't recognize any of my removible devices, such as DVD-ROM (with data or video), CD-ROM (with data or audio) and my SD Card.  All codecs are installed, I can play videos and musics from my HD.

When I install Gnome as the default desktop environment, everything works fine!  Just plug or unplug things and they appear or disappear from desktop!

What could be wrong? 

Sorry about my English!  I'm from Brazil!

Offline

#2 2006-12-09 13:42:29

SimonJ
Member
From: Perth
Registered: 2006-09-06
Posts: 135
Website

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

Yes, it's Thunar and IIRC you need hal when compiling.

hth


Simon.                                                         (^_^)

TIP: Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.
=====================================================================

Offline

#3 2006-12-12 12:07:36

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

Xfce doesn't has a deamon for this (we're working on this). But (as SimonJ already told) Thunar can do this when you setup your fstab properly and run the hal daemon. You can also use ivman.

Offline

#4 2006-12-23 09:25:33

naelphin
Member
Registered: 2006-12-23
Posts: 4

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

I have a worse problem; the icon on the desktop doesn't showup when I insert a CD. Ivman doesn't seem to do anything either. I have hal up and loaded.

I am using xubuntu 6.06.

Offline

#5 2006-12-23 12:09:56

SimonJ
Member
From: Perth
Registered: 2006-09-06
Posts: 135
Website

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

Does the CD show up in Thunar?


Simon.                                                         (^_^)

TIP: Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.
=====================================================================

Offline

#6 2006-12-23 14:27:20

naelphin
Member
Registered: 2006-12-23
Posts: 4

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

It doesn't show up in thunar either, or the desktop. I tried upgrading to 0.5 RC2, but that didn't help

Offline

#7 2006-12-23 22:07:09

Dieter
Member
Registered: 2006-12-23
Posts: 1

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

Is dbus installed on your system? If not, install it and retry.

I'm running Debian Etch with XFCE 4.3.99.1 and the icons show up on the desktop. For access as normal user, I installed pmount, too.

Dieter

Offline

#8 2006-12-24 13:23:11

naelphin
Member
Registered: 2006-12-23
Posts: 4

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

dbus is installed. I'm trying to update to RC2 (using Xubuntu 6.06's beta1 currently)

Offline

#9 2006-12-25 13:05:17

naelphin
Member
Registered: 2006-12-23
Posts: 4

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

I installed RC2 and when I put in a CD an icon appears on the desktop. I'm happy enough with this.

Now to be able to play 2 sounds at once (VLC & flash)

Offline

#10 2007-01-02 15:57:03

galctus51
Member
Registered: 2006-12-09
Posts: 2

Re: Can XFCE mount/umount removible devices automaticaly? - SOLVED!

Ok Guys, the problem is solved!

If you are Runing Debian Etch after a Netinstall, just use APTITUDE instead of APT-GET to install XFCE!

With this he will install Hal and the others things necessary for mounting devices automaticaly.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB