Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-29 17:27:40

lucidmind
Member
Registered: 2007-01-29
Posts: 8

[solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

Hi there!

i thought in 4.4 the terminal comes with real transparency straight away .. ive enabled the composite manager and inactive windows and popups are transparent .. really awesome smile .. but how do i get the active terminal window (or other programs) transparent? .. i cannot find an option for that anywhere .. pls help smile thanks smile

Offline

#2 2007-01-30 00:39:34

SenorSnor
Member
Registered: 2005-01-24
Posts: 9

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

with the compositor enabled, terminal does true transparency here on my system, just by enabling it in the menu. I couldn't find an option to make active windows transparent (except for popups), but I don't want that anyway so I didn't investigate it further smile

Offline

#3 2007-01-30 06:11:43

SimonJ
Member
From: Perth
Registered: 2006-09-06
Posts: 135
Website

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

lucidmind wrote:

Hi there!

i thought in 4.4 the terminal comes with real transparency straight away .. ive enabled the composite manager and inactive windows and popups are transparent .. really awesome smile .. but how do i get the active terminal window (or other programs) transparent? .. i cannot find an option for that anywhere .. pls help smile thanks smile

Open the terminal, right click the (currently) black background and choose preferences.

Click appearance on the left and about halfway down is background.

Change it to transparent background and then use the slider to set it how you like it. :-)


Simon.                                                         (^_^)

TIP: Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.
=====================================================================

Offline

#4 2007-01-30 10:54:05

lucidmind
Member
Registered: 2007-01-29
Posts: 8

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

jaja ... i know that option ... but when i set it on transparent there then i only get the pseudo tranparency ... which shows me my desktopwallpaper but not the windows behind the terminal

EDIT: i unistalled the terminal now tried to delete all of its config files and installed it again but its still not doin realtransparency

Offline

#5 2007-01-30 12:40:32

SimonJ
Member
From: Perth
Registered: 2006-09-06
Posts: 135
Website

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

You have the compositor option turned on in window manager tweaks?

That makes it work here.


Simon.                                                         (^_^)

TIP: Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.
=====================================================================

Offline

#6 2007-01-30 12:47:30

lucidmind
Member
Registered: 2007-01-29
Posts: 8

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

SimonJ wrote:

You have the compositor option turned on in window manager tweaks?

lucidmind wrote:

[...] ive enabled the composite manager and inactive windows and popups are transparent [...]

Offline

#7 2007-01-30 17:28:52

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

Is terminal compiled with gtk 2.10 (and do you use gtk 2.10)

Offline

#8 2007-01-30 18:41:35

lucidmind
Member
Registered: 2007-01-29
Posts: 8

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

Nick wrote:

Is terminal compiled with gtk 2.10 (and do you use gtk 2.10)

yes, i just checked gtk and glib again and i  _only_ have the newest versions installed and i checked the config log of xfce terminal and it is using gtk+ 2.10.9

any other ideas?

Offline

#9 2007-01-30 19:33:32

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

Well it you have gtk 2.10 and terminal is compiled with gtk 2.10 (terminal -v), you can check the terminal configure output, there should be a line saying: whether VTE supports real transparency <yes/no>. Which should be yes of course. When it's no, you probably have and outdated version of vte I guess.

Offline

#10 2007-01-30 20:08:27

lucidmind
Member
Registered: 2007-01-29
Posts: 8

Re: [solved] where can i set tranparency of the terminal?

thank you very much smile that helped

so the solution was to update vte and recompile the terminal source

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB