Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-02-01 19:05:05

tonnyv
Member
Registered: 2007-02-01
Posts: 2

no sound

Okay, XFCE works nice en sweet on FreeBSD, but ... how do I get sound :-s

Installed xmms but it complains about soundcard install

Offline

#2 2007-02-01 20:47:02

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: no sound

Ask this on you distro's forum, Xfce has nothing to do with sound (except that there is a mixer).

Offline

#3 2007-02-01 21:10:02

tonnyv
Member
Registered: 2007-02-01
Posts: 2

Re: no sound

well.... that is to say, using mpg123 it does work.....
(now i mention THAT .... think I need to check that mpg123 is not occupying the soundcard  :-| )

Offline

#4 2007-02-02 13:11:51

MagnusBerg
Member
Registered: 2004-12-17
Posts: 45

Re: no sound

Nick wrote:

Xfce has nothing to do with sound (except that there is a mixer).

But, if you use to run a desktop environment which take care of mixer levels you can realise that there is no sound then you boot Xfce. You have to set the mixer levels as root and store them with the 'alsactl store 0' command. (0 stands for you first soundcard)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB