Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-05 23:29:43

bigbearomaha
Member
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 18
Website

xfce and tcp/ip

Hello folks.

I am hoping someone can help me.  I'm trying to find an Xfce equivalent to LISa, the kde "Network Neighborhood" tool that relies on tcp/ip.

I looked at LISa itself, but when  I go to install it, it insists on installing kde libs.  I would like to to avoid that at all costs.

This implementation is for BEL Project. We are using Xfce to make a "Terminal" disk.  essentially, providing a distro/disk to install on the low end machines that are used on production floors and work areas in small to mid sized locations. 

So far, it is all coming together very well, but  I was really hoping to have a LISa-like app to make it even better.

Thank you in advance for any help.

Big Bear


Freedom By Knowledge.
Working toward making the computer everyone's resource, not just the ones who can afford it.

http://groups.google.com/group/freedom- … roup?hl=en

Offline

#2 2007-10-08 06:41:05

s0ulslack
Moderator
From: Idaho
Registered: 2005-12-25
Posts: 291

Re: xfce and tcp/ip

There are several nice implementations available that work fairly well, only one I can think of off hand is LinNeighborhood (http://www.bnro.de/~schmidjo/index.html).  Might search freshmeat.net or sourceforge.net to find others as well

Offline

#3 2007-11-04 15:50:20

bigbearomaha
Member
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 18
Website

Re: xfce and tcp/ip

Sorry it has taken so long to get back.

Thank you for your help.

I have been looking through those and think we have some pretty decent options.

Big Bear


Freedom By Knowledge.
Working toward making the computer everyone's resource, not just the ones who can afford it.

http://groups.google.com/group/freedom- … roup?hl=en

Offline

#4 2007-11-04 17:59:08

reinderien
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2007-10-24
Posts: 8

Re: xfce and tcp/ip

I wonder if there's a Thunar-integrated extension for this purpose?

Offline

#5 2007-11-04 18:22:52

imitis
Member
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 16

Re: xfce and tcp/ip

you can use fusesmb with thunar

Offline

#6 2007-11-12 17:52:35

bigbearomaha
Member
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 18
Website

Re: xfce and tcp/ip

;D

Yup, I learned that myself.

as shown here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? … xfce+samba

Big Bear


Freedom By Knowledge.
Working toward making the computer everyone's resource, not just the ones who can afford it.

http://groups.google.com/group/freedom- … roup?hl=en

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB