Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-16 15:06:31

rassen
Member
Registered: 2009-01-16
Posts: 5

what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

http://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3804
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=6552720

i can't understand what're the developer thinking!
why don't you fix this sh*t error?!

Offline

#2 2009-01-16 17:53:02

Pindakoe
Member
From: NL
Registered: 2003-11-26
Posts: 110

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

I think this is not really an error but a design decision. Until Xfce 4.2 (or 4.0) the desktop did not show icons at all. Some prefer that (I do -- my work Windows PC has one icon  on its desktop -- the trashcan), others use the desktop as alternative to bookmarks/favourites etc.

What xfdesktop (the program that draws your desktop) does is show the contents of the desktop folder. It does not act as a file-manager. Windows on the other hand seems to use Explorer to draw its desktop; same applies to Nautilus for Gnome and Konqueror for KDE 3.x, so in all cases a file manager (with copy/paste functionality) manages the desktop.

Both bugs ask for a fairly significant deviation in design for Xfce -- a step not to be taken lightly.

I agree that the current state for Xfce is not obvious as it suggests similarity to these other desktop environments, but has got it only halfway implemented. I guess that is what compromised look like.

Offline

#3 2009-01-17 00:41:37

SimonJ
Member
From: Perth
Registered: 2006-09-06
Posts: 135
Website

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

rassen wrote:

http://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3804
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=6552720

i can't understand what're the developer thinking!
why don't you fix this sh*t error?!

If the dev prefers it this way it will never change. If you'd prefer something different just install something else.

I wanted single click on the desktop so I installed Nautilus and use that for my desktop, it also simplifies samba browsing. smile


Simon.                                                         (^_^)

TIP: Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.
=====================================================================

Offline

#4 2009-01-17 06:08:04

rassen
Member
Registered: 2009-01-16
Posts: 5

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

i really like xubuntu mor than gnome / ubuntu
however, because this , i can't continuos using xubuntu.

so, if i install nautilus replace thunar, this error can be resolve?
how to do that?

Offline

#5 2009-01-17 06:15:54

SimonJ
Member
From: Perth
Registered: 2006-09-06
Posts: 135
Website

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

sudo apt-get install nautilus
<password>

Y - Yes install these

Then Xfce -> Settings -> Settings Manager --> Autostarted apps

Click Add Name - nautilus, command "nautilus --no-default-window" without the quotes. Click OK.

Click OK to close.

Click on Desktop in the Settings manager and remove the tick for Allow Xfce to manage the desktop.

Log out, log in and nautilus is now your desktop.


Simon.                                                         (^_^)

TIP: Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.
=====================================================================

Offline

#6 2009-01-17 06:43:12

rassen
Member
Registered: 2009-01-16
Posts: 5

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
nautilus is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

Offline

#7 2009-01-17 06:47:04

rassen
Member
Registered: 2009-01-16
Posts: 5

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

notice: i'm using ubuntu and install xfce-desktop beside
i don't need to reinstall nautilus. thanks you, i'm done.

Offline

#8 2009-01-17 07:57:58

rassen
Member
Registered: 2009-01-16
Posts: 5

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

can i stop thunar on start?
on start up time , this desktop is load thunar, and after that, it's load nautilus.
can i remove thunar?

Offline

#9 2009-01-18 08:20:37

SimonJ
Member
From: Perth
Registered: 2006-09-06
Posts: 135
Website

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

Do everything after the installation, this makes Nautilus run your desktop, exactly as it did in Gnome.


Simon.                                                         (^_^)

TIP: Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.
=====================================================================

Offline

#10 2009-01-23 12:05:04

hakimio
Member
Registered: 2009-01-23
Posts: 5

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

You should be able to paste on desktop. See screenshot:
desktopae7.th.png

Offline

#11 2009-03-12 11:52:37

brain)(vision
Member
From: Monte Los Angeles (Califoggia)
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 47
Website

Re: what's this sh*t error? I can't paste anything on the desktop??!

even it's a bit too late, I found the same "problem" (but it's not a probleam - Tarricone said) and try to solve by myself.. it is not possible..
this is the discussion from http://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3804 until 06 of march.. It said everything on two post..

Goodbye..

-------  Comment #2 From Kevin Day  2009-03-06 17:06:28 UTC  -------

I can confirm this problem on xfce 4.6.0.
The menu does appear on right click and the paste option is visible but shaded
out.

The cut from the desktop problem also exists.
The problem also exists with copy from the desktop

I can confirm that cutting and pasting through the file manage to the file
manager works flawlessly.

Note: I do not have hal enabled nor installed.
Note: dbus does exists, is installed, and is running.

------- Comment #3 From Brian J. Tarricone 2009-03-06 20:41:07 UTC -------

It's not a "problem," it's an unimplemented feature.

It's not my work, but maybe this thread can be closed..


leonardo
-linux user #483530
-registered machine 403135 --> hal9002
-registered machine 394211 --> hal9001

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB