Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-22 12:05:30

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 9
Website

Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

I want to use xfce as my default desktop, but have some problems with the fonts of the drop down menu that opens when we click on View, Tools, Help etc of some apps, like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig. They are very big, about double size than they should. Is there any way to fix this?
Thank you

Last edited by hariskar (2012-11-01 18:05:30)

Offline

#2 2012-10-22 12:37:57

angstrom
Member
Registered: 2011-08-13
Posts: 265

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

For KDE application (which use Qt instead of Gtk as for Xfce), you can configure them with systemsettings.
There you can configure the theme/appearance (and even behavior like single/double click) for KDE application (Gwenview, K3b, ...). For font, I think it is in Common Appearance and Behavior > Application Appearance > Fonts


Xfce is NOT Xubuntu. Bugs in Xubuntu don't mean that Xfce is buggy ...

Offline

#3 2012-10-22 12:45:45

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

Thank you but I do not find any setting that affects only the drop down menu. The only relevant setting is Force Fonts DPI, but it affects not only the dropdown menu but the main anu too.

Offline

#4 2012-10-22 13:14:39

angstrom
Member
Registered: 2011-08-13
Posts: 265

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

hariskar wrote:

Thank you but I do not find any setting that affects only the drop down menu. The only relevant setting is Force Fonts DPI, but it affects not only the dropdown menu but the main anu too.

True ! I made a test on my OpenSuse 12.2 and it don't change anything in the Menu font. Sorry for the noise :-(

On my pc, when I change the font size in Xfce's Settings Manager > Appearance > Font, it take effect on kde application menu. But on my pc, there is no difference in font size between Xfce menu and Kde application menu ...

Last edited by angstrom (2012-10-22 13:20:49)


Xfce is NOT Xubuntu. Bugs in Xubuntu don't mean that Xfce is buggy ...

Offline

#5 2012-10-22 13:15:58

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

No problem, any other idea? It must be something sinple...

Offline

#6 2012-10-22 13:21:28

angstrom
Member
Registered: 2011-08-13
Posts: 265

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

Have you tried to create a new account and look if the font are the same in xfce menu and kde menu ? Maybe it's simply some messed up configuration file ?


Xfce is NOT Xubuntu. Bugs in Xubuntu don't mean that Xfce is buggy ...

Offline

#7 2012-10-22 13:33:05

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

It worked!!! I made a test account and fonts are OK! Why did that happen? How can I make it work for root account?
Thank you!

Offline

#8 2012-10-22 13:44:40

secipolla
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 393

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

I have only Xfce and a few Qt apps.
Unfortunately theming Qt apps in Xfce is very broken.
It uses the old gconf settings and that can be used to set the theme but not the fonts and they are rendered differently (bigger).

I think this has changed in Qt5 (the way the theme is set; IDK if the font rendering has changed).

Last edited by secipolla (2012-10-22 13:45:47)

Offline

#9 2012-10-22 14:06:54

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

It worked only for the 1st time for test account. Now the fonts are big again... :-(

Offline

#10 2012-10-22 14:28:27

angstrom
Member
Registered: 2011-08-13
Posts: 265

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

1. We know now that it come from some file ~/.*
2. To narrow down which file(s), you can try create new account, login/logout/modify until the problem come back. Then look for files that changed lastly (eg: with ls -lrat)

(by the way, working with root account is VERY dangerous ... so to be done with care ...)


Xfce is NOT Xubuntu. Bugs in Xubuntu don't mean that Xfce is buggy ...

Offline

#11 2012-11-01 14:51:48

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

I made a new test account and the problem exists from the beginning..
Strange that there is no solution for so popoular apps..

Offline

#12 2012-11-02 15:18:18

secipolla
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 393

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

Qt here is 4.8.3
qtconfig-qt4 can set the fonts etc. properly if we choose some custom palette. But if we set it to use the 'Desktop Settings' style then it will use the gconf defined GTK theme but fails to set the fonts and neither they can be set with gconf settings.

Offline

#13 2012-11-16 15:08:07

hariskar
Member
From: Greece/Kavala
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

The problem is tha menus bar fonts have the correct size, but dropdown menus have huge size fonts. When I make a change, all fonts get smaller, even the correct menu bar fonts..

Offline

#14 2012-12-12 19:22:09

moneytoo
Member
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 1

Re: Font of menu in apps like Amarok, K3b, qtconfig is very big

I had this problem on Arch Linux. I solved this issue once I updated to latest git versions of infinality freetype2 packages. wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB