Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-03 04:06:45

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 259
Website

[Solved] Can I safely remove gdm?

Around a year or so ago, I migrated from Gnome 2 to Xfce on Fedora Linux.  I've just noticed that my computer is still running gdm, even though Xfce is using xfdesktop.  Is there any reason that I shouldn't just uninstall gdm?


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#2 2013-03-03 05:47:17

Jristz
Member
From: Sud-America
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 82

Re: [Solved] Can I safely remove gdm?

gdm is a display manager and xfdesktop is a desktop manager

if you want use only the console for startxfce4 thIe go for it, but you an use a different program for login managing like slim or lxdm or lightdm that use less gnome depso

but is your desision


XFCE :: Arch Linux
:: Intel(R) Atom(R) N270 @ 4W at 1.60GHz
:: ntel Corporation Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
:: LED WSVGA of 10.1" (1,024 x 600)

Offline

#3 2013-03-03 06:26:19

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 259
Website

Re: [Solved] Can I safely remove gdm?

OK, let's see if I've got this right: when I'm logging in I'm looking at gdm; once I've logged in xfdesktop manages what goes on.  And, to be honest, the only reason I'm asking is that on Fedora, at least, one of gdm's dependencies is preupgrade.  That's a program that's only used to set up system upgrades and it's been replaced by fedup.  The only reason I've not removed it already is because of some weird dependencies, including this one.  Thanx for your reply, Jristz.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#4 2013-03-04 00:41:30

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 192
Website

Re: [Solved] Can I safely remove gdm?

If you update to F18 Xfce spin you will no longer need gdm as it is using lightdm.

Offline

#5 2013-03-04 00:49:26

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 259
Website

Re: [Solved] Can I safely remove gdm?

I don't install "spins" from LiveCD; I install from the DVD and customize before installation.  However, I've now installed, configured and tested lightdm and uninstalled gdm.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB