Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-17 17:46:56

stofl
Member
Registered: 2013-04-17
Posts: 5

Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

I am using Dolphin as file manager. Is there a way to tell XFCE to open Dolphin instead of Thunar, when clicking on a directory icon on the desktop?

Offline

#2 2013-04-17 19:28:46

Darktux
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 57

Re: Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

Hi,
Have you tried defining Dolphin as you File Manager in System Settings > Preferred Applications > File Manager ?
I believe it will solve you issue.

Offline

#3 2013-04-18 09:32:18

stofl
Member
Registered: 2013-04-17
Posts: 5

Re: Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

Yes, I did that. But it had no effect.

Offline

#4 2013-04-18 17:06:57

Darktux
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 57

Re: Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

Humm, strange ...
Log out / Log in ?
I am out of more ideas ...

Offline

#5 2013-04-18 17:55:30

stofl
Member
Registered: 2013-04-17
Posts: 5

Re: Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

No, this doesn't work since months (and I'm logging out nearly every day). Version is 4.8 (Debian).

Offline

#6 2013-04-19 02:00:13

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 209
Website

Re: Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

I have this working as described so I'm not sure why it isn't working for you.
Have you tried clearing the session cache? Not sure why that would affect it but it is the only thing I can think of.

Offline

#7 2013-04-19 03:39:18

eric_the_idiot
Member
Registered: 2011-12-23
Posts: 46

Re: Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

That functionality was added in version 4.10. Specifically this patch: http://git.xfce.org/xfce/xfdesktop/comm … dc71c01cde You could either upgrade to 4.10 or cherry-pick that patch to 4.8 to make it work.

Offline

#8 2013-04-19 07:17:28

stofl
Member
Registered: 2013-04-17
Posts: 5

Re: Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

Ah, okay. Thank you.

Offline

#9 2013-04-19 18:08:12

Clio
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 35

Re: Open Dolpfin instead of Thunar from the desktop

You can set a link from dolphin to thunar. I think, this is the easiest way to solve this problem without patch.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB