I'm a new convert to Xfce. Just installed 4.10 on Archlinux.
After Gnome 3, Xfce customization freedom is a welcome relief.
I really don't like the smartphone approach to desktop (Gnome & Unity).
Though KDE is fine it is heavy.
I would like to make a feature request as the post title suggests.
I have searched a lot for this but haven't found an answer.
Nautilus does this. What I mean is that folder is bookmarked
remembered but not shown if the partition is not mounted as
is case of nautilus. Thunar unfortunatley forgets the folder
when the partition is unmounted and thunar is relaunched.
Thanks for a good Desktop. Power to the User.
I’m not sure what you’re calling “bookmarks” but if you send a folder to the side pane it should be remembered. Maybe the difference between your setup and mine is that the mount points are never deleted on mine?
Edit: right, I just tried and Thunar removes the shortcut when the folder is deleted.
Last edited by stqn (2013-05-07 08:22:57)
I believe that in Thunar 1.6.0 that issue is solved.
I have Thunar 1.6.2.
Just updated to Thunar 1.6.3
What I mean is Select a partition
Bookmark a folder to sidepane from the mounted partition
Unmount the partition
On the next launch the folder bookmark is gone.
Now mount that partition again. The folder bookmark
doesnot appear back.
I had to close thunar (partition still mounted) and relaunch.
Then I can see the folder again.
Too much of relaunching going on here.
Nautilus does this.
By the way, is it possible to get a notification pop up
when a usb drive is inserted without thunar running already.
If you add it to your side pane and close Thunar with the partition still mounted, then unmount and mount it again before running Thunar, does it show up in the side pane? Or does the act of unmounting and remounting effect the side pane even if Thunar isn't currently running?
Thanks for replying
I checked what you said. Yes, if thunar is closed and partitioned is unmounted and then mounted before opening thunar bookmarked folders are updated accordingly and visible. If partition is mounted from the desktop drive icon and then thunar is launched bookmarked folders are updated and visible automatically.
Its only when thunar is open and partition is mounted then a relaunch becomes neccessary for folder visibility. And also if a partition is unmounted its bookmarked folders donot disappear from view till thunar is closed and relaunched.
Last edited by sirius (2013-05-07 20:09:24)