Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-24 07:46:56

segfault
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 5

Non-functioning compositing

Hello,

I have checked Enable compositing in Window manager tweaks, but on the Panel dialog, Appearance tab, I can see 'Enable compositing for opacity settings in the panel'.
What gives? Shouldn't it use the xfce's own compositing engine?
I should mention that I'm using a dual monitor system.

Cheers!

Last edited by segfault (2013-11-24 20:58:43)

Offline

#2 2013-11-25 00:24:58

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 211
Website

Re: Non-functioning compositing

Might be worth logging out and back in again.
What distro and Xfce version are you using?
After you enable Compositing do the options on that screen work, e.g. opacity of windows? If not could be a graphics driver problem, you might need to check with your distro that you are using the correct / best driver for your graphics card although that is rarely a problem with Xfce. Dual monitors shouldn't be a problem.

Offline

#3 2013-11-25 06:26:49

segfault
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 5

Re: Non-functioning compositing

ozjd wrote:

Might be worth logging out and back in again.

I've logged out countless times, to no avail.

ozjd wrote:

What distro and Xfce version are you using?

Slackware 14.1 w/ XFCE 4.10.

ozjd wrote:

After you enable Compositing do the options on that screen work, e.g. opacity of windows? If not could be a graphics driver problem, you might need to check with your distro that you are using the correct / best driver for your graphics card although that is rarely a problem with Xfce. Dual monitors shouldn't be a problem.

No, they don't. They are greyed out and that warning I previously mentioned appears. Although on the window manager tweaks dialog they are not greyed out, and I can even modify them, but they don't have an effect.

Offline

#4 2013-11-25 06:32:21

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 211
Website

Re: Non-functioning compositing

It sounds like a graphics driver issue. Sorry I have no idea how to set up Slackware. You need to identify the card you have and the driver it is using.

Offline

#5 2013-11-25 16:48:35

segfault
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 5

Re: Non-functioning compositing

I understand. But doesn't feel quite right, as everything else seems to work (Xinerama, even gaming under wine).

Offline

#6 2013-11-25 18:04:05

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 1,100

Re: Non-functioning compositing

A couple of sanity checks:

Is xfwm4 running?

pgrep -l xfwm4

Was it compiled with compositor support?

xfwm4 --version

...and look at "Embedded compositor" line.

Offline

#7 2013-11-25 18:14:41

segfault
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 5

Re: Non-functioning compositing

pgrep -l xfwm4

-->

2431 xfwm4

and

xfwm4 --version

-->

Xlib:  extension "RANDR" missing on display ":0.0".
	This is xfwm4 version 4.10.1 (revision 3918e6b) for Xfce 4.10
	Released under the terms of the GNU General Public License.
	Compiled against GTK+-2.24.18, using GTK+-2.24.19.

	Build configuration and supported features:
	- Startup notification support:                 Yes
	- XSync support:                                Yes
	- Render support:                               Yes
	- Xrandr support:                               Yes
	- Embedded compositor:                          Yes
	- KDE systray proxy (deprecated):               No

It's the stock XFCE that comes with the distro; I haven't tampered with it at all.

Offline

#8 2013-11-25 20:07:46

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 1,100

Re: Non-functioning compositing

Then I think that @ozjd is on the right track and its a problem with the video card/driver.

EDIT: Maybe this is related? Disabling xinerama in xorg.conf solved the problem there.

Last edited by ToZ (2013-11-25 20:12:29)

Offline

#9 2013-11-25 20:22:41

segfault
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 5

Re: Non-functioning compositing

You might be right, as the issue of Xinerama vs compositing keeps popping up.
I'll try to replace it with xRandr, when I get the time to fiddle with it again.

Thanks, to both of you.

Offline

#10 2013-11-26 03:07:54

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 211
Website

Re: Non-functioning compositing

Nice catch ToZ, I hadn't heard of that one, always learning something new. Good luck segfault, hope it fixes it for you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB