Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-12-19 02:47:58

silentplummet
Member
Registered: 2013-12-19
Posts: 1

XFCE and systemd

I have a simple question; will xfce ever require systemd as a dependency?

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2013-12-20 22:22:53

cwizard
Member
Registered: 2009-09-05
Posts: 7

Re: XFCE and systemd

I sincerely hope NOT.

Offline

#3 2013-12-20 23:20:18

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 296
Website

Re: XFCE and systemd

I've been working with systemd on Fedora for some time now.  It's a replacement for the old init process of booting into Linux and has nothing to do with any programs that don't start until after you log in.  As Xfce is a desktop environment and doesn't start with boot, the only place that it interacts at all with systemd is lightdm, or whatever display/login manager you're using, and that's only because that's how your dm gets started under systemd.  There's no reason for Xfce to care what system your box uses to boot, any more than it needs to care what distro you're using.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#4 2014-01-21 23:21:52

Subsentient
Member
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 1

Re: XFCE and systemd

It's actually quite possible that systemd is required by GNOME 3. Those guys do stuff like that. I think it's a conspiracy. Also, I think I heard something about that.

Offline

#5 2014-01-22 00:02:06

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 296
Website

Re: XFCE and systemd

The only connection that I know of is that systemd starts your display manager (lightdm, gdm or whatever) so that you can log in.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#6 2014-01-22 00:23:28

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 1,242

Re: XFCE and systemd

I've come to see that systemd also manages suspend/hibernate, lid switch actions, mount/automount, etc. There is a conflict between the current xfce4-power-manager and systemd and why its being upgraded to work better in a systemd environment.

Offline

#7 2014-01-22 21:18:09

herbie643
Member
Registered: 2013-04-05
Posts: 45

Re: XFCE and systemd

I am running Debian SID with systemd and I just suspended without issue.  I am running Xfce 4.10 currently.
BTW I customized it some and Xfce is quite nice, elegant.  Very nicely done, kudos to Xfce team.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB