Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-05-26 12:11:29

paull
Member
Registered: 2015-05-26
Posts: 3

xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

I use xfce4-terminal with the --drop-down option (in fullscreen) and have a keybind set to show/hide this terminal.

When the terminal renders, there's a 1 pixel white border around the terminal, and due to this, my font doesn't align to the bottom due to the 2px of height taken by the border.

I looked through the settings and I couldn't find the option to turn this off. I set up an environment and cloned the git repo for xfce4-terminal, so if any devs want to help me find a way to hack at it to not show the white border that would be great, Thanks!

Offline

#2 2015-05-26 13:33:58

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 10,949

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

I looked through the settings and I couldn't find the option to turn this off. I set up an environment and cloned the git repo for xfce4-terminal, so if any devs want to help me find a way to hack at it to not show the white border that would be great, Thanks!

diff --git a/terminal/terminal-window-dropdown.c b/terminal/terminal-window-dropdown.c
index 0b763b5..3dd7ed8 100644
--- a/terminal/terminal-window-dropdown.c
+++ b/terminal/terminal-window-dropdown.c
@@ -256,9 +256,9 @@ terminal_window_dropdown_init (TerminalWindowDropdown *dropdown)
 
   /* adjust notebook for drop-down usage */
   gtk_notebook_set_tab_pos (GTK_NOTEBOOK (window->notebook), GTK_POS_BOTTOM);
-  gtk_notebook_set_show_border (GTK_NOTEBOOK (window->notebook), TRUE);
+  gtk_notebook_set_show_border (GTK_NOTEBOOK (window->notebook), FALSE);
   terminal_window_notebook_show_tabs (window);
-  terminal_util_set_style_thinkess (window->notebook, 1);
+  terminal_util_set_style_thinkess (window->notebook, 0);
 
   /* actions we don't want */
   action = gtk_action_group_get_action (window->action_group, "show-borders");

Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#3 2015-05-26 15:35:54

paull
Member
Registered: 2015-05-26
Posts: 3

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

ToZ wrote:

I looked through the settings and I couldn't find the option to turn this off. I set up an environment and cloned the git repo for xfce4-terminal, so if any devs want to help me find a way to hack at it to not show the white border that would be great, Thanks!

diff --git a/terminal/terminal-window-dropdown.c b/terminal/terminal-window-dropdown.c
index 0b763b5..3dd7ed8 100644
--- a/terminal/terminal-window-dropdown.c
+++ b/terminal/terminal-window-dropdown.c
@@ -256,9 +256,9 @@ terminal_window_dropdown_init (TerminalWindowDropdown *dropdown)
 
   /* adjust notebook for drop-down usage */
   gtk_notebook_set_tab_pos (GTK_NOTEBOOK (window->notebook), GTK_POS_BOTTOM);
-  gtk_notebook_set_show_border (GTK_NOTEBOOK (window->notebook), TRUE);
+  gtk_notebook_set_show_border (GTK_NOTEBOOK (window->notebook), FALSE);
   terminal_window_notebook_show_tabs (window);
-  terminal_util_set_style_thinkess (window->notebook, 1);
+  terminal_util_set_style_thinkess (window->notebook, 0);
 
   /* actions we don't want */
   action = gtk_action_group_get_action (window->action_group, "show-borders");

Awesome! Before I came to ask for help, I set

gtk_notebook_set_show_border (GTK_NOTEBOOK (window->notebook), TRUE);

to 

gtk_notebook_set_show_border (GTK_NOTEBOOK (window->notebook), FALSE);

but I didn't see

terminal_util_set_style_thinkess (window->notebook, 1);

So it ended up not working. I think it was because of the misspelling of thickness, haha!

Is there a plan to add this to the settings in the drop down section?

Anyway, thanks for the help!

Last edited by paull (2015-05-26 15:37:03)

Offline

#4 2015-05-26 16:31:45

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 10,949

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

Are you sure you have the latest from git? See: http://git.xfce.org/apps/xfce4-terminal … dropdown.c - the line #261 exits (and yes, for some reason thickness is mis-spelled).

You need to kill all instances of xfce4-terminal (or log out and back in again) for it to work. Or for testing purposes, run it with the "--disable-server" parameter so it runs in a new instance:

xfce4-terminal --disable-server --drop-down

Is there a plan to add this to the settings in the drop down section?

Not that I am aware of - its currently hard-coded.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#5 2015-05-26 18:29:26

paull
Member
Registered: 2015-05-26
Posts: 3

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

Yup, it works now! Thanks for the help.

Offline

#6 2015-05-27 05:40:42

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 560
Website

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

There is a bug on this. You might like to add a comment there https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10297

Offline

#7 2015-05-27 13:17:58

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 10,949

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

ozjd wrote:

There is a bug on this. You might like to add a comment there https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10297

Ha-ha - and I commented on the bug report and promptly forgot about it. Growing old is not all its made out to be.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#8 2015-05-27 15:29:47

Jerry3904
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 850

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

Growing old is not all its made out to be.

No, it's even more...


MX-23 (based on Debian Stable) with our flagship Xfce 4.18.

Offline

#9 2015-05-27 19:56:03

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: Where Mr. Bankruptcy is Prez
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 1,115

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

ToZ wrote:

Growing old is not all its made out to be.

Yeah - but think of the alternative.

Laughing,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#10 2015-05-28 00:15:23

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 560
Website

Re: xfce4-terminal --drop-down remove white border

ToZ wrote:
ozjd wrote:

There is a bug on this. You might like to add a comment there https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10297

Ha-ha - and I commented on the bug report and promptly forgot about it. Growing old is not all its made out to be.

Well it was nearly two years ago :-) . Thanks for updating it, with the patch we might see some action on it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB