Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-04-30 08:27:49

nomko
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 37
Website

[Solved] HMDI sound not working

Hi everybody,

Using Mint 17.1 Xfce. Desktop system connected to my flatscreen tv. I have a nice, clear image on my tv but no sound over HDMI.

xrandr does show a HDMI port, aplay -l command only shows my onboard sound chipset.

i found a solution which didn't worked:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-audio-dev/alsa-daily
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install oem-audio-hda-daily-dkms

Does anyone know how i can get sound over HDMI? Am i missing anything here?
All help will be very much appreciated!

Inform me when additional info is required.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System spec's:

System:    Host: tvpc-mint171xfce Kernel: 3.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.8.2)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.11.8 (Gtk 2.24.23) Distro: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P5KPL-AM SE v: X.0x Bios: American Megatrends v: 0501 date: 05/07/2009
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core2 Quad Q8200 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3) bmips: 18648
           clock speeds: max: 2331 MHz 1: 1998 MHz 2: 1998 MHz 3: 1998 MHz 4: 1998 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G96 [GeForce 9500 GT] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.15.1 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce 9500 GT/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 331.113 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.13.0-37-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e800 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1500.3GB (0.7% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: SAMSUNG_HD501LJ size: 500.1GB temp: 25C
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: SAMSUNG_HD103SI size: 1000.2GB temp: 18C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 455G used: 5.7G (2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 17.0C mobo: 28.0C gpu: 0.0:31C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 1147 sys-1: 0
Info:      Processes: 174 Uptime: 17 min Memory: 1152.1/3952.8MB Init: Upstart runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.2
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.111) inxi: 2.2.19

xrandr

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-0 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 509mm x 286mm
   1920x1080      60.0*+
   1680x1050      60.0  
   1600x1200      60.0  
   1440x900       75.0     59.9  
   1400x1050      60.0  
   1360x768       60.0  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     72.2     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     59.9  
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

aplay -l

kaart 0: Intel [HDA Intel], apparaat 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Sub-apparaten: 1/1
  Sub-apparaat #0: subdevice #0

My laptop:
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*128 GiB SSD/1 TB HDD

My Linux website!

Offline

#2 2015-04-30 10:39:27

Jerry3904
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 555

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

It looks like you need some mechanism to switch sound cards. One way is by installing PulseAudio, which is useful if you will be switching back and forth.

Another is to create a hidden file in your home directory called .asoundrc with the following content:

#replace the number in the phrase "card 1" with the number of the soundcard you wish to use, if different
#make sure to replace both instances
   pcm.!default {
           type hw
           card 1
        }

        ctl.!default {
           type hw           
           card 1
        }

It looks like "card 1" would be correct for the system you describe. This method is best when changing infrequently.

We have a simple dedicated utility for this which makes changing very easy.


MX-16 (based on Debian Stable) with Xfce 4.12.

Offline

#3 2015-04-30 11:26:06

nomko
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 37
Website

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Jerry3904 wrote:

It looks like you need some mechanism to switch sound cards. One way is by installing PulseAudio, which is useful if you will be switching back and forth.

Pulseaudio is installed, i just checked it.


Jerry3904 wrote:

Another is to create a hidden file in your home directory called .asoundrc with the following content:

#replace the number in the phrase "card 1" with the number of the soundcard you wish to use, if different
#make sure to replace both instances
   pcm.!default {
           type hw
           card 1
        }

        ctl.!default {
           type hw           
           card 1
        }

It looks like "card 1" would be correct for the system you describe. This method is best when changing infrequently.

We have a simple dedicated utility for this which makes changing very easy.

Trying this out right now!


My laptop:
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*128 GiB SSD/1 TB HDD

My Linux website!

Offline

#4 2015-04-30 11:29:15

Jerry3904
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 555

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Pulseaudio is installed, i just checked it.

OK, then did you already try using the Volume Control (pavucontrol) to switch (Output Devices tab)?


MX-16 (based on Debian Stable) with Xfce 4.12.

Offline

#5 2015-04-30 11:32:43

nomko
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 37
Website

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Jerry3904 wrote:

Pulseaudio is installed, i just checked it.

OK, then did you already try using the Volume Control (pavucontrol) to switch (Output Devices tab)?

I installed pavucontrol, checked it. No HDMI output.

I did that trick with that hidden file...no luck.


My laptop:
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*128 GiB SSD/1 TB HDD

My Linux website!

Offline

#6 2015-04-30 11:40:58

nomko
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 37
Website

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Just did xrandr --prop and still xrandr sees a HDMI port:

xrandr --prop
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-0 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	BorderDimensions: 4 
		supported: 4
	Border: 0 0 0 0 
		range: (0, 65535)
	SignalFormat: VGA 
		supported: VGA
	ConnectorType: DVI-I 
	ConnectorNumber: 0 
	_ConnectorLocation: 0 
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	BorderDimensions: 4 
		supported: 4
	Border: 0 0 0 0 
		range: (0, 65535)
	SignalFormat: VGA 
		supported: VGA
	ConnectorType: VGA 
	ConnectorNumber: 1 
	_ConnectorLocation: 1 
DVI-I-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 509mm x 286mm
	EDID: 
		00ffffffffffff0034a4823601010101
		0016010381331d782add45a3554fa027
		125054bfef80b300a940950081408180
		950f714f9040023a801871382d40582c
		4500fd1e1100001e662150b051001b30
		40703600fd1e1100001e000000fd0037
		4c1d5111000a202020202020000000fc
		004d442032303838380a202020200050
	BorderDimensions: 4 
		supported: 4
	Border: 0 0 0 0 
		range: (0, 65535)
	SignalFormat: TMDS 
		supported: TMDS
	ConnectorType: DVI-I 
	ConnectorNumber: 0 
	_ConnectorLocation: 0 
   1920x1080      60.0*+
   1680x1050      60.0  
   1600x1200      60.0  
   1440x900       75.0     59.9  
   1400x1050      60.0  
   1360x768       60.0  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     72.2     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     59.9  
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	BorderDimensions: 4 
		supported: 4
	Border: 0 0 0 0 
		range: (0, 65535)
	SignalFormat: TMDS 
		supported: TMDS
	ConnectorType: HDMI 
	ConnectorNumber: 2 
	_ConnectorLocation: 2 

My laptop:
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*128 GiB SSD/1 TB HDD

My Linux website!

Offline

#7 2015-04-30 12:24:04

Jerry3904
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 555

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Looking again at the output of your aplay -l, I realize that there is only one sound card, so all this serves no purpose. That one card may be an HDMI card, but your last post shows it to be "disconnected." You might try to enable it in pavucontrol if you look around.


MX-16 (based on Debian Stable) with Xfce 4.12.

Offline

#8 2015-04-30 13:22:42

nomko
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 37
Website

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Jerry3904 wrote:

Looking again at the output of your aplay -l, I realize that there is only one sound card, so all this serves no purpose. That one card may be an HDMI card, but your last post shows it to be "disconnected." You might try to enable it in pavucontrol if you look around.

As i said, there's no option in pavucontrol to enable HDMI. pavucontrol leads to the standard sound setting/config menu....

Yes, HDMI is diconnected and if you looked more closely, so is DVI-I-0 and VG-0. That's because there's nothing connected to HDMI and VGA port!
At this moment i connected my desktop to an monitor using DVI.


My laptop:
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*128 GiB SSD/1 TB HDD

My Linux website!

Offline

#9 2015-04-30 13:25:18

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: USA police-state welfare-state
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 858

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Has the cable worked for this application in the past?

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#10 2015-04-30 14:11:27

Jerry3904
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 555

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Well, here is the output of your aplay -l:

kaart 0: Intel [HDA Intel], apparaat 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Sub-apparaten: 1/1
  Sub-apparaat #0: subdevice #0

There is only one card recognized there, and it is an analog card. I googled the name of the card, and it looks like it may need a driver (scroll down to Ae ((Make NVIDIA HDMI Audio work):

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Sound … otingGuide

Hope this helps--all I can do.

BTW: this is really a question for the Mint Forum, isn't it?--it has nothing to do with Xfce that I can see.

Last edited by Jerry3904 (2015-04-30 14:14:21)


MX-16 (based on Debian Stable) with Xfce 4.12.

Offline

#11 2015-05-01 06:11:52

nomko
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 37
Website

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

MountainDewManiac wrote:

Has the cable worked for this application in the past?

Yes, the cable is okay. I had a very old desktop connected to my TV through HDMI and it worked just fine. Never had any problems. I was running Mint + Mate on that old system.


My laptop:
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*128 GiB SSD/1 TB HDD

My Linux website!

Offline

#12 2015-05-01 06:16:49

nomko
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 37
Website

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Jerry3904 wrote:

Well, here is the output of your aplay -l:

kaart 0: Intel [HDA Intel], apparaat 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Sub-apparaten: 1/1
  Sub-apparaat #0: subdevice #0

There is only one card recognized there, and it is an analog card. I googled the name of the card, and it looks like it may need a driver (scroll down to Ae ((Make NVIDIA HDMI Audio work):

The strangest thing is, that i had Mate running on this desktop before changing to Mint+Xfce and with Mate i never had any problems with HMDI while using the same Nvidia driver... Connecting the desktop to the TV switching to HDMI and sounds was up and running!

I'll try re-installing Mint+Xfce just to check what happens then......

Jerry3904 wrote:

BTW: this is really a question for the Mint Forum, isn't it?--it has nothing to do with Xfce that I can see.

Maybe, but checking the Mint forum i only get solutions that doesn't work and are basically the same solutions too..... So i tried my luck here.


Btw., i wanna ditch Mate and swap to Xfce since Xfce looks much more modern and leaner than Mate. Mint 17.1 with Mate feels a bit sluggish...


Also thanks for the link! The info looks pretty outdated, they're mentioning Ubuntu 11.04, but the info  could still be useful.

Last edited by nomko (2015-05-01 06:18:06)


My laptop:
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*128 GiB SSD/1 TB HDD

My Linux website!

Offline

#13 2015-05-18 08:31:11

nomko
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 37
Website

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Just a quick update:

My problem seems to be a Nvidia card porblem instead of a Xfce/Mint problem. I took the time last weekend to check my videocard again and i found out that it is missing a S/PDIF connector which i need to connect a S/PDIF cable from my motherboard to my videocard to get sound over HDMI.

This thread can be marked a solved now.


My laptop:
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*128 GiB SSD/1 TB HDD

My Linux website!

Offline

#14 2015-08-14 03:33:03

radekp
Member
Registered: 2015-08-14
Posts: 1

Re: [Solved] HMDI sound not working

Hello nomko,

I have a seemingly similar problem to yours, and I cannot find help anywhere.
Would you be willing to write in more details what you did to get that S/PDIF conenctor?

Thank you!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB