Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-04-18 17:18:50

infinite
Member
Registered: 2015-11-03
Posts: 91

htop desktop

I'm writing a leight script using xfce4-terminal/gnome-terminal .
Kind of : https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=154094

However, it isn't working .
It doesn't remplace the wallpaper or else .

#!/bin/bash
exo-open --launch TerminalEmulator htop
wmctrl -r Terminal -b add,below,sticky
wmctrl -r Terminal -b add,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

Last edited by infinite (2016-04-18 17:19:58)

Offline

#2 2016-04-18 18:39:22

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 10,948

Re: htop desktop

It doesn't actually replace the wallpaper, it overlays a maximized terminal window on to the wallpaper. Try this:

!/bin/sh

xfce4-terminal --disable-server --maximize --hide-borders --hide-toolbar --hide-menubar --title "HTOP_WALL" -x htop &

sleep 1

wmctrl -i -r $(wmctrl -lv | grep HTOP_WALL | awk '{ print $1 }') -b add,below,sticky
wmctrl -i -r $(wmctrl -lv | grep HTOP_WALL | awk '{ print $1 }') -b add,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

Works best with Settings > Window Manager Tweaks > Accessibility > "Hide title of windows when maximized" enabled.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#3 2016-04-18 20:57:16

infinite
Member
Registered: 2015-11-03
Posts: 91

Re: htop desktop

Indeed .
Is "sleep 1" necessary ?
Why my code doesn't make the Terminal(htop), stick in background ?

Offline

#4 2016-04-18 23:09:19

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 10,948

Re: htop desktop

Try adding a sleep statement between the exo-open command and the wmctrl commands. Some times you need a short pause for the new window to register before the wmctrl commands will have an effect.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#5 2016-04-22 23:09:25

infinite
Member
Registered: 2015-11-03
Posts: 91

Re: htop desktop

it work .
How to make htop act like a wallpaper : behind desktop icons ?
xfdesktop only handle images and colors .

Unless ,  i can use gtk modules ? ( documentation not found )

Offline

#6 2016-04-23 01:47:24

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 10,948

Re: htop desktop

infinite wrote:

How to make htop act like a wallpaper : behind desktop icons ?

You can't. xfdesktop is not currently capable of this. You might want to look at something like conky. It will let you overlay things on the desktop - including the results of htop if you so desire.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#7 2016-04-24 12:26:07

infinite
Member
Registered: 2015-11-03
Posts: 91

Re: htop desktop

Ok.
----------------
Why this isn't working ?:

#!/bin/bash
exo-open --launch TerminalEmulator htop
sleep 1
wmctrl -r :ACTIVE: -T Terminal
wmctrl -r Terminal -b toggle,maximized_vert,maximized_horz
wmctrl -r Terminal -b add,below,sticky
wmctrl -r Terminal -b add,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
exit

-------------------
Did you found documentation about gtk modules (xfdesktop) ?

Offline

#8 2016-04-24 14:05:20

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 10,948

Re: htop desktop

infinite wrote:

Ok.
----------------
Why this isn't working ?:

What do you mean by "isn't working"? It works fine on my system. What exactly is happening on yours?


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#9 2016-04-24 22:29:18

infinite
Member
Registered: 2015-11-03
Posts: 91

Re: htop desktop

Oops, it work fine after rebooting , sorry ...

Last edited by infinite (2016-04-24 22:31:25)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB