Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-04 09:09:23

Przemas
Member
Registered: 2016-09-18
Posts: 18

Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

I've been wondering whether there's a way to make Xfce to display apps that are contained in a folder/group correctly - atm on 2 systems with 2 different distros they  do not show at all:
hoBNZAZ.jpg
What's a bit curious in the right click menu all apps show correctly:
t1bM3s3.jpg

Offline

#2 2017-08-04 11:28:34

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,704

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Here is the official Xfce documentation for customizing menus.

You might also be able to use a menu editor like, menulibre, alacarte, or xame.

what are the two distros that are displaying the menus differently?


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#3 2017-08-04 15:27:43

Przemas
Member
Registered: 2016-09-18
Posts: 18

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

I see the same problem on Centos / Fedora and OpenSUSE .
And I really don't get why on right click app menu you see those menu entries correctly - I thought those are handled by the same applet (both pics I've posted are from the same machine - the one without all the entries has been activated by clicking applet button in the panel, the other one has been triggered by right click).

Offline

#4 2017-08-04 17:16:46

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,704

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Are you running the same versions of Xfce and garcon on both computers? There was a bug (I believe this one) in garcon that prevented submenus from displaying if there was no desktop file at a level above in the plugin. And unfortunately no, the desktop and the menu plugin don't use the same code.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#5 2017-08-04 20:26:37

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 415
Website

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

I just tried to add an application to my System menu.  (Bleachbit as root.)  It doesn't show up on the main menu from the panel, and the Application menu doesn't come up from a right-click.  Again.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#6 2017-08-04 22:01:17

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,704

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Sideburns wrote:

I just tried to add an application to my System menu.  (Bleachbit as root.)  It doesn't show up on the main menu from the panel, and the Application menu doesn't come up from a right-click.  Again.

How did you try to add it? What does the .desktop file look like?


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#7 2017-08-04 22:11:59

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 415
Website

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

What .desktop file?  I added it to the System menu using menulibre.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#8 2017-08-04 23:17:17

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,704

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Look in ~/.local/share/applications. That's where they are put. There is one .desktop file for every item on the the menu. (usually found in /usr/share/applications).


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#9 2017-08-04 23:42:49

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 415
Website

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

OK, I found it with the name menulibre-new-launcher-launcher1.desktop and inside it says that the launcher's name is Bleachbit as root.  It appears on the main Applications menu and I can't seem to move it to a submenu.  The contents are:

[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Name=Bleachbit as root
Comment=Bleachbit as root
Icon=application-default-icon
Exec=beesu bleachbit
NoDisplay=false
Categories=Utility;X-XFCE;X-Xfce-Toplevel;
StartupNotify=false
Terminal=false
Path=

I presume that I'd have to edit the Categories line, but I don't know what I should put there.  Also, I had to go to ~/.config/menus and move xfce-applications.menu to xfce-applications.menu.old and log out and back in to get the Applications menu to show.  Is this a known bug, or something that I should report?  If it matters, I'm using Fedora 25 and Xfce 4.12, fully updated.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#10 2017-08-05 00:16:23

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,704

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Remove "X-XFCE;X-Xfce-Toplevel;" from the categories section. That puts it in the section above the categories. There also has to be a corresponding entry for this desktop file in ~/.config/menus/xfce-application.menu (for it to show up in the top level section of the menu).

I don't use any of these menu editors to be able to verify, but I would say that if you can replciate this issue, then you probably should file a bug report.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#11 2017-08-05 07:40:21

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 415
Website

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Actually, it puts it between the Accessories and Development submenus.  Will try your suggestion later, when I have time.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#12 2017-08-06 10:15:52

Przemas
Member
Registered: 2016-09-18
Posts: 18

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

@ToZ: that bug report sounds exactly like the problem I'm having.
All the machines are running Xfce 4.12. How can I check garcon version (I guess that's what's responsible for menu entries, right?)?
The bug report mentions a fix. How can I apply it?

Offline

#13 2017-08-06 16:58:02

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,704

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Przemas wrote:

@ToZ: that bug report sounds exactly like the problem I'm having.
All the machines are running Xfce 4.12. How can I check garcon version (I guess that's what's responsible for menu entries, right?)?

For fedora/centos, I believe the following will get you the version informantion:

yum info garcon

For opensuse, I believe:

zypper info garcon

The bug report mentions a fix. How can I apply it?

The easiest way would be to get the distro to package the fix (or release a version with the fix). The workaround is to include a .desktop file in each submenu that does not have a .desktop file. So in your example, in the "Side Effects Software" folder. I'm not sure how this software creates the directory structure, but you would need to have a look in your system to see how it's done.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#14 2017-08-06 17:50:19

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 415
Website

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Unless you're using an old version of Fedora, yum has been replaced by dnf.  Just substitute dnf wherever you'd have used yum, and you'll probably be OK.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#15 2017-08-07 12:21:32

Przemas
Member
Registered: 2016-09-18
Posts: 18

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

Here's the version available in Centos repos:
Architektura       : x86_64
Wersja             : 0.4.0
Wydanie            : 3.el7

- it seems highly unlikely patched version will hit the repos anytime soon (its major pain when it comes to Centos). Is there a way I could apply patch myself?

Offline

#16 2017-08-07 18:08:07

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,704

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

I don't have much experience with patching centos so I'm not sure what to suggest. However, if you have  menu editor installed, try creating a new menu entry in the "Side Effect Software" section. It should workaround the issue for the time being.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#17 Today 02:33:02

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 415
Website

Re: Programs applet does not display more complex app layouts

OK, I finally made the time to try your suggestion, and Bleachbit as root now shows up in my Accessories menu.  Thanx!


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB