Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-27 02:57:58

ACS84
Member
Registered: 2017-08-27
Posts: 2

Conky Aurora Weather Underground Question

I am running Xfce 4 desktop on Ubuntu 16.04.  I cannot change my temperature settings from Celsius to Fahrenheit.  I have changed the text

cpu_avg_samples 1
net_avg_samples 2
temperature_unit Fahrenheit

and no luck. 

Any suggestions?

Offline

#2 2017-08-27 04:12:40

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: USA police-state welfare-state
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 845

Re: Conky Aurora Weather Underground Question

I found this web page:
https://erikdubois.be/change-location-w … ky-aurora/

There's a YouTube video towards the bottom of the page. The person in the video uses Bangkok as an example when showing how to get the code for the desired location. Just after he pastes that into the script, he briefly mentions that "u=c" stands for "unit is Celsius." Therefore, I'm assuming that you'd want to change the same thing, in the same place, in your script to "u=f."

You'll have to view the video to get the specific line, as I didn't bother to manually copy (type) it.

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#3 2017-08-27 07:16:46

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 426
Website

Re: Conky Aurora Weather Underground Question

One thing to remember with config settings like temperature is that they work on Conky's own inbuilt functions but not on the output from external scripts such as data from a weather site.

Offline

#4 2017-08-28 00:09:59

ACS84
Member
Registered: 2017-08-27
Posts: 2

Re: Conky Aurora Weather Underground Question

I have tried adding the ";u=f" and "&u=f" to weather underground file without success.

As for the Conky file, the only place in the Conky file itself that has the word temprature or unit is:

background yes
update_interval 1

cpu_avg_samples 1
net_avg_samples 2
temperature_unit Fahrenheit 

* I tried changing Celsius to both fahrenheit and Fahrenheit, again without success.

Thanks for your help, I will continue to play around with the code and see if anything changes.

Last edited by ACS84 (2017-08-28 00:13:33)

Offline

#5 2017-08-28 11:24:28

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: USA police-state welfare-state
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 845

Re: Conky Aurora Weather Underground Question

As per post #3, you might concentrate on playing around with the link instead of the Conky script itself.

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB