Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-09 19:05:34

Munk
Member
Registered: 2019-01-09
Posts: 4

[Solved] XFCE wont use third monitor, Floating point exception

Hi all, I figured I would post here before submitting a bug report.
I just bought a new laptop, installed Arch and xfce4. I have two extra monitors plugged into a USB3.1 to dual DP adapter.
By default one monitor is mirrored with the laptop display.
I open xfce4-display-settings and arrange and configure my monitors, removing the mirror setting.
As soon as I hit apply xfce4-display-settings crashes but the monitors appear configured correctly.
The catch is xfce doesn't use the laptop monitor. I think X11 is working correctly for that monitor because while it is a black screen, I can move my mouse cursor around on it. Trying to drag a window to that monitor shows the mouse dragging but nothing else is drawn.

Trying to open xfce4-display-settings fails.

xfce4-display-settings
Floating point exception (core dumped).

uname -a
Linux ASUS-N580GD 4.20.0-arch1-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Dec 24 03:00:40 UTC 2018 x86_64 GNU/Linux

xfce4-about -V
xfce4-about 4.12.1 (Xfce 4.12)

X11 and xfce are still a bit of a black box for me, please let me know if there are any debug files I can provide.

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by Munk (2019-01-21 19:24:22)

Offline

#2 2019-01-09 20:33:25

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: Where Mr. Bankruptcy is Prez
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 1,080

Re: [Solved] XFCE wont use third monitor, Floating point exception

It's not xfwm4 that has crashed at that point, is it? Do application windows (on any monitor) still have their title bars, minimize/maximize buttons, et cetera at that point?

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#3 2019-01-09 21:15:36

Munk
Member
Registered: 2019-01-09
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] XFCE wont use third monitor, Floating point exception

That's the thing, everything else works perfectly, I am working with just the two monitors right now. The only other thing that seems odd is that right clicking on a menu item in the application launcher registers as a left click, but it does that even with one monitor.

Offline

#4 2019-01-11 17:00:23

Munk
Member
Registered: 2019-01-09
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] XFCE wont use third monitor, Floating point exception

Also, I just noticed I am having that constant high cpu load issue being caused by DisplayLinkManager. It's using 20-50% of my cpu at all times even with compositing off.

Last edited by Munk (2019-01-11 17:00:52)

Offline

#5 2019-01-21 19:23:18

Munk
Member
Registered: 2019-01-09
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] XFCE wont use third monitor, Floating point exception

I figured it out, the xorg conf needed a setting larger than its default for Screen-Display-Virtual. The default wasn't large enough to accommodate my monitors. Placing the monitors side by side with a virtual display size that is too small crashes xfce4-display-settings.

Last edited by Munk (2019-01-21 19:23:43)

Offline

#6 2019-02-01 04:28:50

Skaperen
Member
From: surface of planet Earth
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 367

Re: [Solved] XFCE wont use third monitor, Floating point exception

that's still a bug, it should act gracefully under the bad condition of too small a virtual size, such as showing black outside the range of the small size, or wrapping around.  ideally it should describe the problem and exit.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB