Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-06-11 20:49:49

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 161

Only One Resolution In New Install [Solved]

When I did a fresh install of Debian 9 with Xfce, I opened up the Display app under Settings.  However, there is only one resolution choice and there are no options which can be changed.

I believe this has happened before, and I posted the issue but got no responses.

From where does Display get its information and can it be changed?

I am using the Asrock B450 Pro4 board and the AMD Ryzen™ 3 2200G with Radeon™ Vega 8 Graphics.

Is this a hardware, UEFI, OS or Xfce issue?

Last edited by KitchM (2019-07-11 18:09:06)

Offline

#2 2019-06-11 22:28:41

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,521

Re: Only One Resolution In New Install [Solved]

I believe Xfce uses randr. What does "xrandr" return on your system?

Offline

#3 2019-06-12 00:02:49

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 161

Re: Only One Resolution In New Install [Solved]

The response was:

xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output of default
Screen0: minimum 1920 x 1080, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 1920 x 1080
default connected 1920x1080+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1920 x 1080     77.00*

Offline

#4 2019-06-12 06:22:33

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: Where Mr. Bankruptcy is Prez
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 1,080

Re: Only One Resolution In New Install [Solved]

Might it simply be that your display device is only physically capable of the one resolution (or that it is reporting so, when "queried")?


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#5 2019-06-13 00:05:52

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,521

Re: Only One Resolution In New Install [Solved]

KitchM wrote:

The response was:

xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output of default
Screen0: minimum 1920 x 1080, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 1920 x 1080
default connected 1920x1080+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1920 x 1080     77.00*

That's why. You need to solve this first. I'd look at the video driver for your card and make sure its installed correctly.

Offline

#6 2019-07-11 18:08:45

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 161

Re: Only One Resolution In New Install [Solved]

Okay, so the problem turned out to be that the firmware drivers for the APU needed to be installed.  Once that was done, everything worked out as it should.

It had mattered little that the BIOS/UEFI allowed a different setting.

Thanks for the tips.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB