Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-15 14:39:41

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 8

XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

I was so excited to see this first highlighted news "improved GLX support with NVIDIA proprietary/closed source drivers" about XFCE 4.12 news and imidiatly upgraded my XFCE 4.12 install to 4.12 and it was unfortunatly a nightmare. I so much wish it was true, but in my case this was false statement. Immidiatly after upgrade, I got my other two screens on the "left" and "right" just apearing in all black, I can move my mouse to them but this was it. XFCE-Panel did not detect those two monitors and XFCE-Desktop did not work. The only monitor that worked was the main "center" monitor. I've tried everything I could to make it work for about eight hours. Then I gave up and downgraded to day earlier to XFCE 4.12 packages and it was all fine again. So here is a bit more details about my hardware and packages maybe it will help to resolve this issue so it all properlhy works. If you need anything elase like logs etc, please request. Please include the commands needed to provide this logs.

This XFCE 4.14 upgrade was tried on August 12th, 2019 and downgrade to August 11th, 2019 packages which is XFCE 4.12 - the last day that works with all three monitors.

Monitors: Three ViewSonic 23" (VP2365-LED) - 1920x1080 @ 60Hz
Setup: Left-Monitor / Center-Monitor / Right-Monitor

My Kernel:

 $ uname -r
5.2.7-arch1-1-ARCH

My Two Video Cards: Nvidia GeForce GT 610

Nvidia Driver:

pacman -Ss nvidia | grep installed
extra/libvdpau 1.2-1 [installed]
extra/libxnvctrl 430.40-3 [installed]
extra/nvidia-390xx 390.116-44 [installed: 390.116-43]
extra/nvidia-390xx-utils 390.116-1 [installed]
extra/nvidia-settings 430.40-3 [installed]
extra/opencl-nvidia 430.40-2 [installed]

Arch Linux packages that made my other two monitors not work are;

Packages (45)

bison-3.4-1  dialog-1:1.3_20190808-1  exo-0.12.8-1  gst-plugins-bad-1.16.0-5  haskell-http-4000.3.14-18 libinput-1.14.0-1  libnghttp2-1.39.1-1  libxfce4ui-4.14.1-2 libxfce4util-4.14.0-1  linux-5.2.8.arch1-1 linux-headers-5.2.8.arch1-1  man-db-2.8.6.1-1  man-pages-5.02-1 mousepad-0.4.2-2  nfoview-1.27-1  openimageio-2.0.10-1 pandoc-2.7.3-23  parallel-20190722-1  parole-1.0.2-2 python-lxml-4.4.1-1  python-scipy-1.3.1-1  python2-lxml-4.4.1-1 ristretto-0.10.0-2  thunar-1.8.9-2  thunar-volman-0.9.5-2 xapian-core-1:1.4.12-1  xfce4-appfinder-4.14.0-1 xfce4-clipman-plugin-1.4.3-2  xfce4-datetime-plugin-0.8.0-1 xfce4-dev-tools-4.14.0-1  xfce4-genmon-plugin-4.0.2-1 xfce4-notes-plugin-1.8.1-4  xfce4-notifyd-0.4.4-2 xfce4-panel-4.14.0-1  xfce4-power-manager-1.6.5-2 xfce4-pulseaudio-plugin-0.4.2-2  xfce4-screensaver-0.1.8-2 xfce4-session-4.14.0-2  xfce4-settings-4.14.0-1 xfce4-terminal-0.8.8-2  xfce4-xkb-plugin-0.8.1-2  xfconf-4.14.1-1 xfdesktop-4.14.1-2  xfwm4-4.14.0-1  zstd-1.4.2-1

Total Installed Size:  385.05 MiB

Here is my Xorg log;
--removed by request --

My 20-nvidia.conf that works 100% on XFCE 4.12 but not on XFCE 4.14.

$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings                                                                                                                       
# nvidia-settings:  version 430.40

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 1920 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
    Screen      2  "Screen2" RightOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "ViewSonic VP2365 SERIES"
    HorizSync       24.0 - 82.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: unknown, VertRefresh source: unknown
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "ViewSonic VP2365 SERIES"
    HorizSync       0.0 - 0.0
    VertRefresh     0.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor2"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "ViewSonic VP2365 SERIES"
    HorizSync       24.0 - 82.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GT 610"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GT 610"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device2"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GT 610"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DVI-I-2: 1920x1080_60 +0+0"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "1920x1080_60 +0+0 {AllowGSYNC=Off}"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen2"
    Device         "Device2"
    Monitor        "Monitor2"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DVI-I-3: 1920x1080_60 +0+0 {AllowGSYNC=Off}"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

And before you say that this video cards too old, I cannot afford to get new once. Plus it worked 100% on XFCE 4.12 so theoretically it should of worked fine on XFCE 4.14. Unless developers broke something major.

Please note I'm not a pro at reading Xorg config. So if there is something I'm missing in my nvidia config, please point me in the right directon.

Any help will be appreciated. Thank you!

Last edited by ToZ (2019-08-26 16:57:16)

Offline

#2 2019-08-15 17:54:24

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,054

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

Hello and welcome.

A few things to check:

  1. Has the xfsettingsd daemon crashed? Is it still running? Try running it like this:

    XFSETTINGSD_DEBUG=1 xfsettingsd --replace --no-daemon

    ...and post back the output.
    .

  2. Does it work if you disable compositing? Either Window Manager Tweaks > Compositing > uncheck Use compositing or run:

    xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/use_compositing -s false

    .

  3. Try with compositing enabled and vblank mode set to off:

    xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/use_compositing -s true
    xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/vblank_mode -t string -s "MODE" --create

    ...where MODE is one of
    - off
    - xpresent
    - glx (this is the default)
    Try all 3 to see if any make a difference (my understanding is that nvidia doesn't support xpresent, but I may be incorrect).
    .

  4. There is an existing bug report for another issue with 3 monitors. The bug report has a proposed patch if you can test it.

Offline

#3 2019-08-15 18:23:32

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

I've installed new packages today again. And have my (center) monitor working. I can also now use DISPLAY=:0.1 (for left monitor) and DISPLAY=:0.2 (for rightm monitor) to launch any software on them. They seem to work well, but the problem is that I can't get xfce4-panel working on them. They are not detected by xfce4-panel. Just gives me screen-1 and screen-2 but does nothing. I will try all of the things you said now and report back. Thank you!

Offline

#4 2019-08-15 18:30:43

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

1. XFSETTINGSD_DEBUG=1 xfsettingsd --replace --no-daemon

xfce4-settings(xsettings): _XSETTINGS_S0 registered on screen 0
xfce4-settings(xsettings): 29 settings changed (serial=0, len=1152)
xfce4-settings(xsettings): resource manager (xft) changed (len=110)
xfce4-settings(displays): Detected CRTC 634.
xfce4-settings(displays): Detected output 637 DVI-I-2.
xfce4-settings(displays): Found 3 matching display profiles.
xfce4-settings(displays): CRTC 634 assigned to DVI-I-2.
xfce4-settings(displays): CRTC 634, output list[0] -> 637.
xfce4-settings(displays): Total 1 active output(s).
xfce4-settings(displays): Normalized CRTC 634: size=1920x1080, pos=0x0.
xfce4-settings(displays): min_h = 8, min_w = 8, max_h = 16384, max_w = 16384, prev_h = 1080, prev_w = 1920, prev_hmm = 286, prev_wmm = 508, h = 1080, w = 1920, hmm = 286, wmm = 508.
xfce4-settings(displays): Configuring CRTC 634.
xfce4-settings(displays): Applying changes to CRTC 634.
xfce4-settings(displays): Applying CRTC 634 Transform: x=1.000000 y=1.000000, filter=nearest.
xfce4-settings(pointers): initialized xi 2.3
xfce4-settings(pointers): [Logitech M570] Changed device property libinput Left Handed Enabled
xfce4-settings(pointers): [Logitech M570] Changed device property libinput Accel Speed
xfce4-settings(keyboards): initialized xkb 1.0
xfce4-settings(keyboards): set auto repeat on
xfce4-settings(keyboards): set key repeat (delay=500, rate=50)
xfce4-settings(keyboards): set numlock off
xfce4-settings(accessibility): AccessXKeys disabled
xfce4-settings(accessibility): stickykeys disabled
xfce4-settings(accessibility): slowkeys disabled
xfce4-settings(accessibility): bouncekeys disabled
xfce4-settings(accessibility): mousekeys disabled
xfce4-settings(keyboard-shortcuts): 5 shortcuts loaded
Warning:          Unsupported high keycode 372 for name <I372> ignored
                  X11 cannot support keycodes above 255.
                  This warning only shows for the first high keycode.
Internal error:   Could not resolve keysym XF86MonBrightnessCycle
Internal error:   Could not resolve keysym XF86RotationLockToggle
xfce4-settings(keyboard-layout): set compose: to ""
xfce4-settings(fontconfig): monitoring 83 paths
xfce4-settings(workspaces): 4 desktop names set from xfconf

2. xfconf-query -c xfwm4 -p /general/use_compositing -s false
I had this off already from previous install, and there were no differece for left/right monitors. Except that having it off helps with no video terring in MPV/VLC.

3. Will try now and report.

4. Don't know what this is.

I'm just happy something workings with new version of XFCE 4.14. At least I can manually use DISPLAY option to start software on those two monitors that something. But fixing xfce4-panel on those monitors will make my life easier. Thank you for helping!

Oh yeah, this is my xrandr if it helps;

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-2 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 509mm x 286mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1400x1050     59.98  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00  
   800x600       75.00    72.19    60.32    56.25  
   640x480       75.00    72.81    59.94  
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

As you can see both DVI-I-0 and DVI-I-1 is showing as disconnected for some reason. Weird thing is that they are both on and work with DISPLAY= options. So not sure what is up...

Offline

#5 2019-08-15 18:36:50

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

Okay so option 2 has no effect besides making video terring possible. When I disable xfce composition there is no video terring. Xenorama works for all three monitors, but because I have composition off it opens all the windows on all three monitors. I prefer running all three monitors in seperate x-screens and have seperate xfce4-panel for each. So any ideas what else I can try?

-

It looks like "DISPLAY=:0.1" and "DISPLAY=:0.2" commands only work when I run;

xrandr --output DVI-I-0 --auto
xrandr --output DVI-I-1 --auto

This is the only thing that works for me without having to use Xenorama madness.

and when I try using xrandr something like this;

# cvt 1920 1080 60
# xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00"  173.00  1920 2048 2248 2576  1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
# xrandr --addmode DVI-I-0 1920x1080_60.00

It shows me this error:

X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  140 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  18 (RRAddOutputMode)
  Serial number of failed request:  28
  Current serial number in output stream:  29

Last edited by NullRoute (2019-08-15 18:49:27)

Offline

#6 2019-08-15 19:13:45

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

Okay, I'll use it with "DISPLAY" commands for now. Until there is a proper fix. Is there a way to lauch "DISPLAY=:0.2" command from XFCE panel launcher? I've tried using "Run in terminal" option don't work. Also tried using "xfce4-terminal -x DISPLAY=:0.2 mousepad" also don't work O_o Any ideas!?

EDIT: Nevermind, simply unchecking "Run in terminal" option and using this command worked. LOL

bash -c 'DISPLAY=:0.2 firefox &'

If anyone have any more ideas on how to make xfce4-panel detect other two monitors please let me know. Thank you for all your help!

Last edited by NullRoute (2019-08-15 19:17:58)

Offline

#7 2019-08-15 20:10:47

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

Okay, by creating new panels and dragging them to left/right screens it worked. Now I see panels on all screens. But now I have another issue. After logoff and loging back in, all 3 panels are on main center monitor. I always have to manually move them to those screens and locking this panels don't help too. Any ideas!? At least it works now, but a bit anoying having to do this on every boot LOL

Offline

#8 2019-08-15 20:42:24

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,054

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

NullRoute wrote:

Oh yeah, this is my xrandr if it helps;

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-2 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 509mm x 286mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1600x900      60.00  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1400x1050     59.98  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00  
   800x600       75.00    72.19    60.32    56.25  
   640x480       75.00    72.81    59.94  
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

As you can see both DVI-I-0 and DVI-I-1 is showing as disconnected for some reason. Weird thing is that they are both on and work with DISPLAY= options. So not sure what is up...

If they are showing disconnected with xrandr, Xfce won't be able to help. It just uses xrandr libraries.
From your xsettingsd debug output:

xfce4-settings(displays): Total 1 active output(s).

Is it possible that this is a video driver issue? Your xorg log file seems to show that its recognizing 3 monitors.

The kernel was also upgraded during the Xfce 4.14 upgrade. Can you test by downgrading the kernel?

4. Don't know what this is.

There is an existing bug report that looks similar, but your xfsettingsd is not crashing. This bug report has a patch that fixes the problem (which is also based around 3 monitors). I'm just wondering if you are able to test the patch.

Another thing to try is to test with only two monitors. Does everything work okay then?

Offline

#9 2019-08-15 21:01:32

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

Monitors seem to work well and I'm able to open other software with DISPLAY on them. I can also have seperate xfce panels on all monitors. But when I click on menu it opens on main monitor. If monitor is on the left, menu is on the right and vise versa when I try on right monitor. This is so weird issues. Also when I logout and log back in, all panels are back on the main monitor again. I have to move them to this monitors again. I'm suing Nvidia 390xx driver, newer won't even show login screen when I boot. My 20-nvidia.conf is unchanged from above example. Anythng I try to open from panels on left or right screens all windows open on main center screen. And I don't think this patch is related to my problem, but I don't even know how to appy it to try :-)

Offline

#10 2019-08-15 23:01:31

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: Where Mr. Bankruptcy is Prez
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 1,087

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

An innocent guess regarding the issue of all your panels appearing on the primary display at boot: Perhaps they are being created before your additional monitors are getting configured? Check to see whether the latter properly comes first during the boot/login. If it does, consider adding a delay after that in order to make sure it has completed before the panel creation/display part starts happening.

Regards,
MDM

PS.  I never before realized what a  PITA it is to create a post on this forum via a cell phone (Android, with Chrome browser). After inputting the text, I find I must then unlock the display orientation option so that I can turn the cell phone sideways and have it redraw the screen. Otherwise, the buttons (including the one that submits the post) are completely hidden by the message entry box. Oddly, this is the only forum software that I can produce this issue with - but with it, I cannot NOT produce the issue.


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#11 2019-08-15 23:37:55

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2019-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: XFCE 4.12 to 4.14 Upgrade: Not Working With Nvidia And Three Monitors!

@MountainDewManiac I've created brand new panels when I tried configuring it under XFCE 4.14.

I had to downgrade XFCE 4.14 back to 4.12 to get everything working for me. XFCE 4.14 is not working properly for me for some reason. I've spend about 12-hours total now trying to make it work. Nothing I tried worked. So will have to stick to 4.12 -snip- Thanks for the help anyways!

Last edited by ToZ (2019-08-15 23:44:08)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB