Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-19 01:22:30

wisemagic
Member
Registered: 2011-09-17
Posts: 25

Sensors in Debian 10

Sensors applet on Debian 10 simply a failure

This is a clean install, and lm-sensors install & detected via terminal command sudo sensors-detect

Applets were all configured.

This is what I get after a boot. No values

Before


I right click on each one and click properties. Make no changes and just close the properties window.
I get this....

After

Values are changed and some don't even show up.

Running an Intel Xeon 2690 8 Core

Am I missing something or is this some kind of a bug.

Debian 10 is on xfce 4.12

Offline

#2 2019-08-19 09:49:44

Jerry3904
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 725

Re: Sensors in Debian 10

In Debian 10 with Xfce 4.14, I run "sensors" as ordinary user after setup and get this report:

jb@mxCarbonX1:$ sensors
iwlwifi-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +33.0°C  

thinkpad-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
fan1:           0 RPM

acpitz-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
temp1:        +37.0°C  (crit = +128.0°C)

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Package id 0:  +36.0°C  (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 0:        +35.0°C  (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 1:        +36.0°C  (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

pch_skylake-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +37.5°C 

Not sure if that helps...


MX-19 b2 (based on Debian Stable) with Xfce 4.14.
My little collection: Xfce Tidbits

Offline

#3 2019-08-19 11:02:06

wisemagic
Member
Registered: 2011-09-17
Posts: 25

Re: Sensors in Debian 10

Yes, I get a fine terminal read out too.
That's not the issue. The problem is with the sensors applet

Offline

#4 2019-08-19 12:05:36

Jerry3904
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 725

Re: Sensors in Debian 10

Got it. I'm on Xfce 4.14, so can't help. When I double-click the applet I get a screen with a pull-down menu that shows whatever I select.[url=https://imgur.com/j4i2JUK.png]
  j4i2JUK.png
[/url]


MX-19 b2 (based on Debian Stable) with Xfce 4.14.
My little collection: Xfce Tidbits

Offline

#5 2019-08-19 12:21:43

wisemagic
Member
Registered: 2011-09-17
Posts: 25

Re: Sensors in Debian 10

Yes, I get pretty much the same thing. After I boot up, the sensors applet has no values.
I have to view the properties and close the properties window to get them to show.

The values are out of order for the cpu. They're not even in order within the properties page.
It comes up with 6 cores. I running an 8 core cpu. I initially set these senors up, and they are fine, but after rebooting, they are trashed.

Offline

#6 2019-08-19 15:13:14

alcornoqui
Member
Registered: 2014-07-28
Posts: 470

Re: Sensors in Debian 10

There's a similar bug filed recently, but there's no response or further activity. Perhaps you could add to it.

Good luck!

Offline

#7 2019-08-19 21:34:13

wisemagic
Member
Registered: 2011-09-17
Posts: 25

Re: Sensors in Debian 10

Saw it. From May.... 3 months ago. I don't believe anyone really cares so I don't think I'll waste more time on this.

Thanks smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB