Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#26 2020-02-10 19:46:45

francesco_dem
Member
From: Napoli, Italy
Registered: 2020-02-06
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] the gtk selected theme does not work

ToZ wrote:

It's really strange that changing themes doesn't work on your system.

Can you create another user, log in as that user, copy over some themes and see if it works there?

I added a group called francesco, so i have this for example:

ls -l ~/.themes/Hedera
totale 44
drwxr-xr-x 2 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 balou
-rw-r--r-- 1 francesco francesco  216  6 mag  2017 basicwp.png
drwxr-xr-x 3 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 gtk-2.0
drwxr-xr-x 2 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 gtk-3.0
-rw-r--r-- 1 francesco francesco  746  6 mag  2017 index.theme
drwxr-xr-x 2 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 metacity-1
drwxr-xr-x 2 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 openbox-3
drwxr-xr-x 2 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 unity
drwxr-xr-x 2 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 xfce-notify-4.0
drwxr-xr-x 2 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 xfdashboard-1.0
drwxr-xr-x 2 francesco francesco 4096 16 mag  2017 xfwm4
 

but same problem!

i'll try to add a new user

Offline

#27 2020-02-10 22:38:27

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 406

Re: [SOLVED] the gtk selected theme does not work

Is it possible your installation is corrupted?

I learned a long time ago to pack light and small and ready to run at the drop of a hat.
I use pcloud or sync cloud and usb drives and back up personal files often. I am far more willing these days to do a complete wipe and reload than I ever was before. It is a breeze to do on Linux, as opposed to doing it on that other OS
While suggestions in this thread may help you and others, if I were you, I'd start making backups and preparing to jump ship. In fact, I am so notorious for breaking my system, I have gotten it to where I can do a complete restoration in under ten minutes, these days (Not including the rather fast installation of the new OS time).

Offline

#28 2020-02-11 12:44:02

francesco_dem
Member
From: Napoli, Italy
Registered: 2020-02-06
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] the gtk selected theme does not work

Aravisian wrote:

Is it possible your installation is corrupted?

I don't think it. I had the problem after an upgrade of thunar and panel; i don't remeber wich upgrade in particular!
I asked the problem also on the arch international forum and in the italian arch forum, but nothing solution!

Aravisian wrote:

Is it possible your installation is corrupted?
I learned a long time ago to pack light and small and ready to run at the drop of a hat.
I use pcloud or sync cloud and usb drives and back up personal files often. I am far more willing these days to do a complete wipe and reload than I ever was before. It is a breeze to do on Linux, as opposed to doing it on that other OS
While suggestions in this thread may help you and others, if I were you, I'd start making backups and preparing to jump ship. In fact, I am so notorious for breaking my system, I have gotten it to where I can do a complete restoration in under ten minutes, these days (Not including the rather fast installation of the new OS time).

This is a very good idea, also because i want to migrate to SSD.
Which folder to sincronize? /root and home?
Maybe i am going out  the post.

Offline

#29 2020-02-11 19:06:20

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 406

Re: [SOLVED] the gtk selected theme does not work

francesco_dem wrote:

Which folder to sincronize? /root and home?
Maybe i am going out  the post.

I choose to only make back ups of Home Folder. You can use a backup utility like Deja Dup to do it, although I do it manually. Deja Dup automatically ignores the directories that should not be copied.
The reasons why is because most troubles that lead to deciding to wipe and reload the O.S. are built in Root.
However, this means that any programs you have installed in Root will need to be reinstalled, even if your home folder is back to the way it was.
I keep a textfile list of the programs I use and just go down the list when I reinstall (Though these days I go by memory...)

Offline

#30 2020-02-12 21:00:21

francesco_dem
Member
From: Napoli, Italy
Registered: 2020-02-06
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] the gtk selected theme does not work

Dear friends, finally i solved the problem.
I deleted in order:
~/.gtkrc-2.0
~/.config/Xfce4/
~/.config/gtk-3.0/ 
Thank you very much for your time.
best reguards

Edit1: how can i mark this post like solved?

Last edited by francesco_dem (2020-02-12 21:15:27)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB