Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#26 2020-02-21 11:59:33

janp
Member
Registered: 2016-02-05
Posts: 14

Re: XFCE4.16 to switch to CSD

I was just writing to request to be able to force the titlebar on some application , like the Opera browser, that use the horrible CSD layout and I discovered, to my deep sadness, that xfce itself wants to switch to CSD!

Why? Why this stupid decision? I don't use Opera anymore because, besides of looking horrible, it is barely distinguishable from other windows on the desktop.
So PLEASE add the possibility to force borders and titlebars on selected windows (like Kwin of KDE does) like the Opera one because these geniuses have removed this option from the product, and,  leave at least the option to use normal titlebars and borders on XFCE.

Thank you.

Offline

#27 2020-02-21 19:10:55

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 406

Re: XFCE4.16 to switch to CSD

janp wrote:

I was just writing to request to be able to force the titlebar on some application , like the Opera browser, that use the horrible CSD layout and I discovered, to my deep sadness, that xfce itself wants to switch to CSD!

Why? Why this stupid decision? I don't use Opera anymore because, besides of looking horrible, it is barely distinguishable from other windows on the desktop.
So PLEASE add the possibility to force borders and titlebars on selected windows (like Kwin of KDE does) like the Opera one because these geniuses have removed this option from the product, and,  leave at least the option to use normal titlebars and borders on XFCE.

Thank you.

JanP, I agree with you, obviously.  A bit off topic, but perhaps helpful for in the meantime: Have you tried using gtk-3-nocsd with Opera?

Offline

#28 2020-02-23 07:39:35

janp
Member
Registered: 2016-02-05
Posts: 14

Re: XFCE4.16 to switch to CSD

Aravisian wrote:

JanP, I agree with you, obviously.  A bit off topic, but perhaps helpful for in the meantime: Have you tried using gtk-3-nocsd with Opera?

Hi, I tried it without success. Maybe I am not using it correctly but with Opera it has absolutely no effect.
I read that Kwin has an option to force WM decorations and I think that a similar solution for xfwm would be preferrable over using thirdy party hacks.
Thank you.

Offline

#29 2020-03-18 18:09:11

janp
Member
Registered: 2016-02-05
Posts: 14

Re: XFCE4.16 to switch to CSD

Eventually I patched a bit xfwm (in an ugly way) to force title and borders onto the Opera window
opera with frame
It was quite easy for me so I think that for xfce developers it would be easier to modify it in the correct way. Hope that they will offer this option and that they will abandon CSD for the other applications.

Offline

#30 2020-03-19 23:59:18

denyer
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2018-10-20
Posts: 31
Website

Re: XFCE4.16 to switch to CSD

Does support the possibility of forking xfwm4 and holding/reverting the intended changes, doesn't it?

Offline

#31 2020-03-20 10:29:02

janp
Member
Registered: 2016-02-05
Posts: 14

Re: XFCE4.16 to switch to CSD

denyer wrote:

Does support the possibility of forking xfwm4 and holding/reverting the intended changes, doesn't it?

Indeed it can be done, however xfwm4 is just a component. You can notice that the xfwm4 title bar pushed around the Opera "CSD" window, while makes easier to find the window on the desktop and allows for the application window to be moved  among workspaces (it can't be moved directly otherwise!!!) , is ugly anyway because  tha application has been made for CSD use and still has the close button etc..
What I mean is that until the apps continue to be butchered this way it shall be hard to save us from CSD.
I still find unbelievable what they are doing, it's totally dumb.

Last edited by janp (2020-03-20 10:45:47)

Offline

#32 2020-03-24 14:33:12

sbedi
Member
Registered: 2020-02-04
Posts: 3

Re: XFCE4.16 to switch to CSD

janp wrote:

Eventually I patched a bit xfwm (in an ugly way) to force title and borders onto the Opera window
https://i.ibb.co/y0ppGGL/withtitle.png
It was quite easy for me so I think that for xfce developers it would be easier to modify it in the correct way. Hope that they will offer this option and that they will abandon CSD for the other applications.

Looks good. Do shadows work properly? IFAIK CSD applications bring their own shadows or am I wrong?

Offline

#33 2020-03-24 19:45:31

janp
Member
Registered: 2016-02-05
Posts: 14

Re: XFCE4.16 to switch to CSD

sbedi wrote:

Looks good. Do shadows work properly? IFAIK CSD applications bring their own shadows or am I wrong?

Yep, the shadows work properly with opera bFJJ3EF.png. I suppose that It will work also with apps that draw their own shadow because what I did was to force some client flags of the original window. I'm not sure though, I'm in no way an expert, I am primarily a pissed user that try convince the develpers, that this is the wrong path.

Last edited by janp (2020-03-25 07:01:50)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB