Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-10 12:22:37

csanyipal
Member
Registered: 2018-08-15
Posts: 5

An App to start autom. when XFCE starts but on a specified Workspace?

Hi,

I wish to have an opportunity when set an application to start automatically when XFCE Desktop starting to set this:
I wish to get opened the automatically started application on the specified Workspace on the Desktop.

So if I have say ten Workspaces out there I wish to get Emacs opened on the Workspace 10 out there.

Is this new feature expected in the near future?

--
Best, Paul

Offline

#2 2020-04-10 12:58:20

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 10,985

Re: An App to start autom. when XFCE starts but on a specified Workspace?

See: https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9860.

As mentioned in the request above, you can use devilspie and using an emacs.ds file like this one:

(if
    (is (application_name) "emacs")
    (begin
        (set_workspace 1)
    )
)

...where you set your desired workspace number in the "set_workspace" line.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#3 2020-04-10 16:26:49

csanyipal
Member
Registered: 2018-08-15
Posts: 5

Re: An App to start autom. when XFCE starts but on a specified Workspace?

ToZ wrote:

See: https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9860.

As mentioned in the request above, you can use devilspie and using an emacs.ds file like this one:

(if
    (is (application_name) "emacs")
    (begin
        (set_workspace 1)
    )
)

...where you set your desired workspace number in the "set_workspace" line.

Thank you very much!
It works!

Actually I am using this for Emacs:

(if (is (application_name) "emacs") (set_workspace 10))

But it does not work for Thunderbird, Firefox. Why?
I just changed these files and now it works for Thunderbird and Firefox too.
My .ds files for Thunderbird and Firefox was:

thunderbird.ds

(if (is (application_name) "Thunderbird") (set_workspace 6))

firefox.ds

(if (is (application_name) "Firefox") (set_workspace 1))

and these does not work,

but these works:

(if
    (is (application_name) "Thunderbird")
    (begin
        (set_workspace 6)
    )
)
(if
    (is (application_name) "Firefox")
    (begin
        (set_workspace 1)
    )
)

Last edited by csanyipal (2020-04-11 06:25:03)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB