Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-06 12:39:29

gena2x
Member
Registered: 2020-05-01
Posts: 5

binding hotkeys

Hello,

I am trying to bind keys to custom actions, I found and tried sxhkd.

It works until I am pressing first xfce4 hotkey. Let's say I binded crtl-F7 and it works, but once I pressed FN-F7 (which is siwtch resolution on my notebook), xfce4 shows resolution selection dialog but later crtl-f7 does not work anymore until i kill and restart sxhkd.

My guess this should be pretty common thing - could anybody share the way how they setup completely custom hotkeys? Let's say I want ctrl-F7 launch custom bash script.

Offline

#2 2020-06-06 13:19:53

eriefisher
Member
From: ON, Canada
Registered: 2008-10-25
Posts: 218

Re: binding hotkeys

I'm not sure what sxhkd is but I'm guessing that two different action are fighting set from two different configurations. XFCE has it's own hot key creator built in.

settings>>keyboard>>application short cuts

Just make sure you don't create one that's already a system default or hardware action.

mQuiHLR.png


Siduction
Debian Sid
Xfce 4.14

Offline

#3 2020-06-06 13:25:01

gena2x
Member
Registered: 2020-05-01
Posts: 5

Re: binding hotkeys

Oh, thanks smile I should have checked settings first. Great.

I also did not realize that crtl-f7 in xfce4 is switching workspace 7, which I do not have and that is probably reason why binding is removed.

Last edited by gena2x (2020-06-06 13:27:42)

Offline

#4 2020-06-06 14:18:02

alcornoqui
Member
Registered: 2014-07-28
Posts: 663

Re: binding hotkeys

I'm not sure if it's in the docs, I might have learned about it here in the forum, but for custom commands it's better to wrap them, like sh -c "customcommand". For example:

sh -c "sleep 1; xset dpms force off"

I use this command to turn off the screen of my laptop, but I do it with others, always in this way.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB