Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-03-16 17:01:58

ctac
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 53

Thunar as root

Hi

OpenBSD LeOpenBSD 6.6 GENERIC.MP#6 amd64

Thunar 1.8.9 (Xfce 4.14)
Copyright (c) 2004-2019
    The Thunar development team. All rights reserved.
Written by Benedikt Meurer <benny@xfce.org>.
Please report bugs to <https://bugzilla.xfce.org/>.

pkexec version 0.116

I try to use thunar as root this way:

1581253456.png
1584380282.png

It's ok but when I want to open a file, I always get:

1584380341.png

What can I do ?
Thunar work well without root account.
thanks

Offline

#2 2020-03-16 20:12:22

peter.48
Member
Registered: 2017-01-31
Posts: 38

Re: Thunar as root

I don't know how it is in BSD but in Fedora I installed the "beesu" package, and launching as root command "beesu thunar" everything is ok (this is obviously a sacrilege for the purists of the slate wink ).

Offline

#3 2020-03-17 08:18:07

alcornoqui
Member
Registered: 2014-07-28
Posts: 663

Re: Thunar as root

I'm on Linux, but I use 'pkexec thunar', and I see some mentions that make me think that it might be similar in BSDs:

https://unix.stackexchange.com/question … on-openbsd

https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/pkex … lay.37060/

I think 'pkexec thunar' is the recommended way nowadays, but hopefully someone can clarify.

Offline

#4 2020-03-17 18:45:04

ctac
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 53

Re: Thunar as root

Hi
Thanks to give a link to a question I ask on here
As you can see, there is no answer.
From this time, I find that xfce come with no gui polkit-authentication-agent so I try to make my own in shell script.
You can find it  here
Sorry, it's in french, but the code is the code.
Now, that's work but not like I want.
mousepad don't want to start and give this error: Failed to initialise xfconf
Thunar is ok but I get this error: Failed to execute ... gio-launch-desktop ...
I think it's a xfce problem and it's why I ask here.
My gui polkit-authentication-agent work very well on debian-testing.
Thanks

Offline

#5 2020-06-25 16:36:37

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Thunar as root

I would like to see this working.  I have seen some mention of using suxe thunar %F.  Any other ways to do it from a launcher?

Offline

#6 2020-06-25 17:30:04

eriefisher
Member
From: ON, Canada
Registered: 2008-10-25
Posts: 214

Re: Thunar as root

I don't know if I understand what's happening with you. If I use the appfinder and type:

pkexec thunar

The authentication window opens asking for a password and the usual warning. I enter the password for root and thunar opens, in the root directory with the header warning about root. Now if I double click on a text file it opens in mousepad as root. Again with the warning header about root. If you want thunar to open in a particular directory then give it the path:

pkexec thunar /path/to/dir

Is this not what you see?

Offline

#7 2020-06-25 18:04:26

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Thunar as root

pkexec thunar does nothing in Application Finder.

However, that works from the terminal line, so all I had to do was edit the launcher to do it correctly.

You know, it wouldn't be bad if there was a root version of Thunar already available on the main menu system.

Thanks for the solution.

Offline

#8 2020-06-25 20:16:27

eriefisher
Member
From: ON, Canada
Registered: 2008-10-25
Posts: 214

Re: Thunar as root

keypress alt+f2 enter pkexec thunar

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB