Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-25 18:26:24

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Debian 10 with Xfce 4.12

Thunar shows two File System entries in the side pane.  Why is that?

[I have a screenshot but don't know how to post it.  There is no help for that in this editor window.]

Offline

#2 2020-06-25 20:01:50

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Is this while running as root? You can right-click DEVICES in shortcuts view and uncheck it's entry to keep it from appearing.

Here is an active bug/enhancement request.

Offline

#3 2020-06-25 21:35:40

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

How do I attach that screenshot?

Offline

#4 2020-06-25 21:43:15

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

KitchM wrote:

How do I attach that screenshot?

Upload the image to a service like imgbb. It will provide you with BBCODE options to post your image (once uploaded, select "BBCode Full Linked" from the "Embed Codes" drop down and copy/paste the link that is generated).

Offline

#5 2020-06-25 21:59:42

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

"select "BBCode Full Linked" from the "Embed Codes" drop down"

Where is that?

Last edited by KitchM (2020-06-25 22:00:53)

Offline

#6 2020-06-25 23:06:44

eriefisher
Member
From: ON, Canada
Registered: 2008-10-25
Posts: 220

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

If you use the xfce4-screenshooter it's like already setup to use the PrtSc key. It has, built in, Imgur to get the BBcode to post pics.

QMKV1Ta.png

NXOimhG.png


Siduction
Debian Sid
Xfce 4.14

Online

#7 2020-06-26 00:32:35

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

But that's not what ToZ said.

Still, that gave me an idea:
[url=https://ibb.co/qyrKb22]
  qyrKb22
[/url]

Last edited by KitchM (2020-06-26 00:35:26)

Offline

#8 2020-06-26 00:35:49

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Nope, that didn't work either.

Offline

#9 2020-06-26 00:39:54

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

@eriefisher's example is better.

To get the ibb method to work, copy/paste the "Full Image (linked)" BBCode:

[url=https://ibb.co/qyrKb22][img]https://i.ibb.co/Ss3bqZZ/Thunar-with-two-File-System-entries.png[/img][/url]

to get:
Thunar-with-two-File-System-entries.png

Offline

#10 2020-06-26 00:42:53

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Are you running as root?

Change the side pane to shortcuts mode (View > Sidepane > shortcuts), right-click on DEVICES>DEVICES and uncheck the "File System" that you don't want displayed. Then switch back to Tree mode.

Offline

#11 2020-06-26 00:56:08

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Nope.  Still there.

And not root.

Last edited by KitchM (2020-06-26 00:56:27)

Offline

#12 2020-06-26 01:08:45

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Can you post the contents of /etc/fstab and the results of:

dpkg -l | grep gvfs

How are you logging into Xfce? Are you using a display manager (which one)? Or are you logging in via "startx"?

Also, if you have an ~/.xsession-errors file, can you post it's contents?

Offline

#13 2020-06-26 16:12:43

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

ii  gvfs:amd64                                        1.38.1-5                            amd64        userspace virtual filesystem - GIO module
ii  gvfs-backends                                     1.38.1-5                            amd64        userspace virtual filesystem - backends
ii  gvfs-bin                                          1.38.1-5                            amd64        userspace virtual filesystem - deprecated command-line tools
ii  gvfs-common                                       1.38.1-5                            all          userspace virtual filesystem - common data files
ii  gvfs-daemons                                      1.38.1-5                            amd64        userspace virtual filesystem - servers
ii  gvfs-libs:amd64                                   1.38.1-5                            amd64        userspace virtual filesystem - private libraries


Since moving to Debian 10, I simply have no environmental issues.  The only thing I've ever noticed is that once in a long while, some non-Debian repo program has an error, but it always seems to be a packaging issue with missing dependencies or bad configuration.

I had just assumed this was an annoying issue with Xfce.

From Application Autostart: [url=https://i.imgur.com/yBQNYAF.png]
  yBQNYAFl.png
[/url]
Note checked items.

Using LightDM.

Here is contents of .xsession-errors:
Xsession: X session started for xxx at Fri 26 Jun 2020 11:39:42 AM EDT
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/user/1000/bus
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting DISPLAY=:0
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XAUTHORITY=/home/xxx/.Xauthority
localuser:xxx being added to access control list
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting GTK_MODULES=gail:atk-bridge
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting QT_ACCESSIBILITY=1
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting USER=xxx
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XDG_SESSION_TYPE=x11
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting HOME=/home/xxx
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting QT4_IM_MODULE=ibus
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting DESKTOP_SESSION=lightdm-xsession
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XDG_SEAT_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting GTK_MODULES=gail:atk-bridge
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/user/1000/bus
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting IM_CONFIG_PHASE=1
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting LOGNAME=xxx
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting GTK_IM_MODULE=ibus
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XDG_SESSION_CLASS=user
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting PATH=/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XDG_SESSION_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Session0
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/run/user/1000
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting DISPLAY=:0
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting LANG=en_US.UTF-8
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XDG_SESSION_DESKTOP=lightdm-xsession
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XAUTHORITY=/home/xxx/.Xauthority
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XMODIFIERS=@im=ibus
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XDG_GREETER_DATA_DIR=/var/lib/lightdm/data/xxx
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting SHELL=/bin/bash
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting GDMSESSION=lightdm-xsession
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting QT_ACCESSIBILITY=1
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting GPG_AGENT_INFO=/run/user/1000/gnupg/S.gpg-agent:0:1
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting QT_IM_MODULE=ibus
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting PWD=/home/xxx
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting XDG_DATA_DIRS=/usr/share/xfce4:/var/lib/snapd/desktop/:
dbus-update-activation-environment: setting CLUTTER_IM_MODULE=ibus
/usr/bin/x-session-manager: X server already running on display :0
xfce4-session-Message: 11:39:43.480: SSH authentication agent is already running
gpg-agent[1050]: WARNING: "--write-env-file" is an obsolete option - it has no effect
gpg-agent: a gpg-agent is already running - not starting a new one

(xfce4-session:984): xfce4-session-WARNING **: 11:39:43.485: gpg-agent returned no PID in the variables
libpager-Message: 11:39:44.476: Setting the pager rows returned false. Maybe the setting is not applied.

[01mHP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.18.12)[0m
[01mSystem Tray Status Service ver. 2.0[0m

Copyright (c) 2001-15 HP Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.



(xfwm4:1055): xfwm4-WARNING **: 11:39:44.583: output size (1024x768) and logical screen size (1920x1080) do not match
System Tray monitors the HP device status and Displays

[01mUsage: hp-systray [MODE] [OPTIONS][0m


[01m[MODE][0m
  Run in graphical    -u or --gui (Default)                                 
  UI mode:                                                                 

[01m[OPTIONS][0m
  Use Qt5:            --qt5 (Default)                                       
  Set the logging     -l<level> or --logging=<level>                       
  level:                                                                   
                      <level>: none, info*, error, warn, debug (*default)   
  Run in debug mode:  -g (same as option: -ldebug)                         
  This help           -h or --help                                         
  information:                                                             

  Startup even if no  -x or --force-startup                                 
  hplip CUPS queues                                                         
  are present:                                                             

[31;01merror: option -s not recognized[0m
libpager-Message: 11:39:44.663: Setting the pager rows returned false. Maybe the setting is not applied.
libpager-Message: 11:39:44.665: Setting the pager rows returned false. Maybe the setting is not applied.

(wrapper-2.0:1106): Gtk-WARNING **: 11:39:44.700: Negative content width -19 (allocation 1, extents 10x10) while allocating gadget (node button, owner GtkToggleButton)

(xfce4-session:984): xfce4-session-WARNING **: 11:39:44.889: Unable to launch "/usr/lib/evolution/evolution-data-server/evolution-alarm-notify" (specified by autostart/org.gnome.Evolution-alarm-notify.desktop): Failed to execute child process “/usr/lib/evolution/evolution-data-server/evolution-alarm-notify” (No such file or directory)

** (xfce4-clipman:1166): WARNING **: 11:39:44.944: Unable to register GApplication: An object is already exported for the interface org.gtk.Application at /org/xfce/clipman

(xfce4-clipman:1166): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 11:39:44.944: g_application_get_is_remote: assertion 'application->priv->is_registered' failed

(xfce4-clipman:1166): GLib-WARNING **: 11:39:44.944: g_set_application_name() called multiple times

(xfce4-session:984): xfce4-session-WARNING **: 11:39:44.963: Unable to launch "package-update-indicator" (specified by autostart/org.guido-berhoerster.code.package-update-indicator.desktop): Failed to execute child process “package-update-indicator” (No such file or directory)

[01mHP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.18.12)[0m
[01mSystem Tray Status Service ver. 2.0[0m

Copyright (c) 2001-15 HP Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.


(pasystray:1176): Gdk-CRITICAL **: 11:39:45.257: gdk_window_thaw_toplevel_updates: assertion 'window->update_and_descendants_freeze_count > 0' failed
[31;01merror: Unable to find hp-upgrade --notify on PATH.[0m
QObject::startTimer: Timers cannot have negative intervals

(/usr/lib/firefox-esr/firefox-esr:1534): dconf-WARNING **: 11:40:33.655: Unable to open /var/lib/snapd/desktop/dconf/profile/user: Permission denied

###!!! [Child][RunMessage] Error: Channel closing: too late to send/recv, messages will be lost


(xfce4-terminal:2314): Gdk-CRITICAL **: 11:44:22.569: gdk_window_get_window_type: assertion 'GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed

(catfish:2602): Gtk-WARNING **: 11:55:41.034: ../../../../gtk/gtkwidget.c:8584: widget not within a GtkWindow

(catfish:2602): Gtk-WARNING **: 11:55:41.189: Failed to fetch network locations: Automount failed: Message recipient disconnected from message bus without replying

Offline

#14 2020-06-26 22:55:28

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Can you also post the contents of /etc/fstab?

Try this.
1. Select View>Side Pane>Shortcuts
2. Right click the word "DEVICES", go to "Devices" and uncheck the File System entry that you don't want to appear.
3. Select View>Side Pane>Tree to return to your view.

Does it look better?

Offline

#15 2020-06-29 14:52:36

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/nvme0n1p2 during installation
UUID=5dcaa226-d7d3-4b70-980a-61d197e5270b /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# /boot/efi was on /dev/nvme0n1p1 during installation
UUID=A4D3-E374  /boot/efi       vfat    umask=0077      0       1
# swap was on /dev/nvme0n1p3 during installation
UUID=31dbc4b6-3391-496b-a05a-5bb6ebaec3aa none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/86c4b726-eb14-4239-8537-5fbeefb7dafc /mnt/86c4b726-eb14-4239-8537-5fbeefb7dafc auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/05f6e662-3822-46b4-8e03-ef0042eae19f /mnt/05f6e662-3822-46b4-8e03-ef0042eae19f auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/119eb3c9-50fb-48c8-b5b4-c6bf7f8d1044 /mnt/119eb3c9-50fb-48c8-b5b4-c6bf7f8d1044 auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/ab6a49c9-6450-4693-8f73-a10072390844 /mnt/ab6a49c9-6450-4693-8f73-a10072390844 auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/5ca1525c-eaf4-4a18-bfa4-81c538074a32 /mnt/5ca1525c-eaf4-4a18-bfa4-81c538074a32 auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0


See number 11 above.

Offline

#16 2020-06-29 19:04:06

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Are the two "File System" entries showing the same content?

What does:

gio mount -l

...show? If that doesn't work, try:

gvfs-mount -l

Offline

#17 2020-06-29 22:06:01

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

No,they do not.  The first one displays no content, but the second one shows the correct system.

Your first command shows:
Drive(0): KINGSTON SKC2000M8250G
  Type: GProxyDrive (GProxyVolumeMonitorUDisks2)
Drive(1): KINGSTON SV300S37A240G
  Type: GProxyDrive (GProxyVolumeMonitorUDisks2)
  Volume(0): Storage
    Type: GProxyVolume (GProxyVolumeMonitorUDisks2)
    Mount(0): Storage -> file:///mnt/86c4b726-eb14-4239-8537-5fbeefb7dafc
      Type: GProxyMount (GProxyVolumeMonitorUDisks2)


The second returns:
This tool has been deprecated, use 'gio mount' instead.
See 'gio help mount' for more info.

Drive(0): KINGSTON SKC2000M8250G
  Type: GProxyDrive (GProxyVolumeMonitorUDisks2)
Drive(1): KINGSTON SV300S37A240G
  Type: GProxyDrive (GProxyVolumeMonitorUDisks2)
  Volume(0): Storage
    Type: GProxyVolume (GProxyVolumeMonitorUDisks2)
    Mount(0): Storage -> file:///mnt/86c4b726-eb14-4239-8537-5fbeefb7dafc
      Type: GProxyMount (GProxyVolumeMonitorUDisks2)
(I should have known that.)

Offline

#18 2020-06-30 01:35:46

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

So gio (gvfs) is seeing two file systems. Thunar is just replicating what gio sees.

Based on the gio command, it looks like you have 2 kingston drives, and one of them has a volume called Storage. Is this correct?

What does the following return:

xfconf-query -c thunar -p /hidden-devices

Offline

#19 2020-06-30 14:50:16

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Those details are correct.  However, there are two issues: 1. everything should be in one file system (and it is), and 2. the user should be able to remove one from the panel if desired.

Your command returned:
Property "/hidden-devices" does not exist on channel "thunar".

Offline

#20 2020-06-30 18:24:19

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

KitchM wrote:

Your command returned:
Property "/hidden-devices" does not exist on channel "thunar".

As per #10 and #11 above, did you not try to hide one of the entries? If so, it would show up in the "/hidden-devices" property on the "thunar" channel.

whoami
ps -ef | grep -i thunar

Offline

#21 2020-06-30 19:33:23

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

I thought I mentioned trying everything.  Sorry.  To be clear, I can go to View>Side Panel>Shortcuts.  I can right-click on any category heading and select Devices.  Under that I see File System and Storage.  It does not matter if I unselect File System or select it.  The display never changes.  There is always two File Systems in Tree View.  Restarting Thunar makes no difference.

I did, however, notice that when selecting the extra (first) one, the address bar reads:
network:///
The second one displays:
/

BTW, it doesn't matter if Network is selected or not.


xxx     4486  4479  0 15:16 pts/0    00:00:00 grep -i thunar
(obviously obfuscated)

Offline

#22 2020-06-30 19:53:50

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,710

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Sorry, but I am out of ideas. Perhaps you can create a bug report and have the developers look at it?

Offline

#23 2020-06-30 20:49:00

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Yeah, you and me both.  I am having a hard time imagining how the OS's file system could create this situation.  It really boggles the mind.

A bug report might be the correct thing.

Thanks for all your help anyway.  Much appreciated.

Offline

#24 2020-07-01 14:55:09

KitchM
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 192

Re: Duplicate Entries In Thunar Side Pane

Okay, so I did discover something else.  It just came to mind that the drives often give good information when viewing them thru the gnome-disk-utility (AKA Disks) application.

I do not know if this is significant, but I suspect that it is.  On my new motherboard it has the ability to use EFI system partitions.  One drive is set up that way.  So it is set up as /dev/nvme0n1p1 and is the main boot drive.  It has a boot partition (FAT32), an OS partition (EXT4) and at swap partition.  The first partition is mounted at /boot/efi, and the second at Filesystem Root.

The other is set up as /dev/sda1 (EXT4) and is one big storage partition under /mnt.

I have a feeling that Thunar does not recognize the first drive correctly and/or its partitions as being part of the main file system.  If that is so, it can be for two reasons.  First, the contents display would only work in root mode.  Second, it has a programming flaw.

To check the first, I opened Thunar in root mode.  Here's what I found:
[url=https://i.imgur.com/rCBxNNy.png]
  rCBxNNyl.png
[/url]
Everything is correct, and things are appropriately labeled.  Interestingly enough, this does indicate the second reason as well.

Now isn't that interesting.  So there you go.  We have found the reason and the bug.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB