Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-21 09:58:27

Valdo
Member
From: Brive La Gaillarde
Registered: 2018-10-06
Posts: 25

Open Google-chrome on secondary screen.

Hello,
sorry for my awful English, but I'm going through an online translator.
I have a small problem that I have been trying to resolve for a long time without ever having succeeded.

I will want to create an app launcher that opens this one in the secondary screen, which is the TV, but I also need to be able to open the same app on the primary screen using another launcher.

My PC is running on Ubuntu 20.10 XFCE environment with only one workspace the main screen is extended over the TV screen which is 10 meters away connected by an HDMI cable.

I manage to manage for daily use on my Ubuntu, but when it comes to attacking the command line, I'm a ball!

Val.

french translation :

Bonjour,
désolé pour mon Anglais exécrable, mais je passe par un traducteur en ligne.
J'ai un petit soucis que j'essaye de régler depuis longtemps sans n'y être jamais arriver.

Je souhaiterai créer un lanceur d’application qui ouvre celle-ci dans l'écran secondaire, à savoir la télévision mais il faut aussi que je puisse ouvrir la même application sur l'écran principal à l'aide d'un autre lanceur.

Mon PC tourne sur Ubuntu 20.10 environnement XFCE avec un seul espace de travail l’écran principal est étendu sur l’écran de la télévision qui se trouve à 10 mètres reliée par un câble HDMI.

J'arrive à me débrouiller pour une utilisation journalière sur mon Ubuntu, mais lorsqu'il faut attaquer la ligne de commande, je suis une bille !

Val.


Windows is the most stable system in the world.
Bill GATES (Famous humorist)

Offline

#2 2020-11-21 11:16:14

alcornoqui
Member
Registered: 2014-07-28
Posts: 761

Re: Open Google-chrome on secondary screen.

Hi Valdo!

I just found this: https://github.com/AlexisBRENON/ewmh_m2m

I love XFCE. I use it on almost all my computers. However, in a multi head setup, it lacks a "move window to monitor" feature. Some posts link to the move-to-next-monitor script, which has many dependencies and is not very customizable (move to bottom, to right, etc.)

Hence, here it is ewmh_m2m.

I can't vouch for it, as I haven't used it and don't have this problem, but perhaps you could give it a try...

Offline

#3 2020-11-21 12:47:40

peter.48
Member
Registered: 2017-01-31
Posts: 55

Re: Open Google-chrome on secondary screen.

S'il s'agit d'un seul espace de travail réparti sur deux écrans, je pense que tu peux l'oublier.
Normalement les fenêtres s'ouvrent avec des coordonnées de l'espace de travail, et non de l'écran, il s'agit donc de coordonnées correspondant à un écran ou un autre, tu ne peux pas avoir deux jeux de coordonnées, à moins que tu ne fasses un bidouillage avec deux instances d'application (si l'application ça supporte), ce qui, à mon avis, est impossible ou presque. Une autre chose est que de nombreuses applications, quels que soient tes efforts, ne s'ouvrent que sur l'écran principal, même si le lanceur se trouve dans le secondaire...

Last edited by peter.48 (2020-11-21 12:48:55)

Offline

#4 2020-11-21 15:04:14

Valdo
Member
From: Brive La Gaillarde
Registered: 2018-10-06
Posts: 25

Re: Open Google-chrome on secondary screen.

I already have the "Move" command in the context menu. I was just looking to make it better.

-----------

J'ai déja la commande "Déplacer" dans le nenu contextuel. je cherchais juste à améliorer la chose.


Windows is the most stable system in the world.
Bill GATES (Famous humorist)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB