Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-05-11 17:19:14

jt1122
Member
Registered: 2021-03-26
Posts: 109

Placing a window above/below other windows once

Hi,

Is there a way to place a window above (and also below) others windows without  setting an "always above" / "always below" mode?. In the latter mode it will obscure newer windows which are opened/raised.

I'd like to do this programmatically.

Thanks

Offline

#2 2022-05-11 18:20:26

KBar
Moderator
Registered: 2021-11-05
Posts: 448

Re: Placing a window above/below other windows once

You can use wmctrl for that:

wmctrl -ri WINDOW_ID -b toggle,above

Remember to edit the subject of your topic to include the [SOLVED] tag once you're satisfied with the answers or have found a solution (in which case, don't forget to share it as well), so that other members of the community can quickly refer to it and save their time. Pretty please! tongue

Offline

#3 2022-05-12 06:14:52

jt1122
Member
Registered: 2021-03-26
Posts: 109

Re: Placing a window above/below other windows once

Thanks, but that's what I'm already using & it doesn't work: the "above" option causes the window to be always on top of others, so if a new window is opened it's fully/partially hidden.

What I'm looking for is a way to place a window once at the top of the window stack, not permanently.

Offline

#4 2022-05-12 06:47:16

KBar
Moderator
Registered: 2021-11-05
Posts: 448

Re: Placing a window above/below other windows once

You can toggle the above state off once the window loses focus.

The window stacking is saved in the _NET_CLIENT_LIST_STACKING property. Perhaps you can try rearranging them within your script with the help of xprop.


Remember to edit the subject of your topic to include the [SOLVED] tag once you're satisfied with the answers or have found a solution (in which case, don't forget to share it as well), so that other members of the community can quickly refer to it and save their time. Pretty please! tongue

Offline

#5 2022-05-17 08:25:26

jt1122
Member
Registered: 2021-03-26
Posts: 109

Re: Placing a window above/below other windows once

Thanks. From researching this property it follows it should not be set directly but it's something managed by the WM.

I ended up using xdotool + wmctrl to achieve what I needed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB