Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-09-28 03:00:36

ahmeteid
Member
Registered: 2022-08-15
Posts: 61

[SOLVED] lost a lot of plugins when replace xfce panel with anthor one

I have replaced the xfce panel 4.16.3 with xfce panel 4.16.5 (edited 2click in clcok.c), it's worked but i miss a lot of plugins, and i can't install any plugins,and if i did ,it's not working,I lost docklike and pulseaudio,etc, i tried to solve that by remove xfce panel4.16.5 and return to 16.3 again, but still i get the problem.

Last edited by KBar (2022-09-28 16:06:51)

Offline

#2 2022-09-28 10:02:18

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 9,529

Re: [SOLVED] lost a lot of plugins when replace xfce panel with anthor one

Which distro are you using?

How did you replace (which commands did you use) 4.16.3 with 4.16.5?

How did you remove 4.16.5 and return to 14.6.3 (which commands)?

Online

#3 2022-09-28 10:27:16

ahmeteid
Member
Registered: 2022-08-15
Posts: 61

Re: [SOLVED] lost a lot of plugins when replace xfce panel with anthor one

ToZ wrote:

Which distro are you using?

How did you replace (which commands did you use) 4.16.3 with 4.16.5?

How did you remove 4.16.5 and return to 14.6.3 (which commands)?

i'm using zorin lite
i have used that command for remove the xfce-panel(14.6.3) that i want to replace it
killall xfce4-panel
sudo apt-get remove xfce4-panel
sudo apt autoremove
then:
installed the xfce4-panel4.16.5(source code) with ./configure make sudo make install
i romve xfce4-panel4.16.5 with sudo make uninstall
i installed xfc4-panel4.16.3 again with(source code) ./configure make sudo make install
*if there r command line can i know with it the version of xfce-panel that i have now?

Offline

#4 2022-09-28 14:26:01

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 9,529

Re: [SOLVED] lost a lot of plugins when replace xfce panel with anthor one

I believe Zorin is built on Ubuntu/Debian. These distros have separated the locations of the 32-bit and 64-bit library directories, so when building from source, you need to specify the correct library directory. So for example, you should specify at least the following 2 parameters to the configure/autogen scripts:

  • --prefix=/usr

  • --libdir=/usr/lib/$(uname -m)-linux-gnu

So for example:

./configure --prefix=/usr --libdir=/usr/lib/$(uname -m)-linux-gnu

...and this should put all the files in the correct locations to find them.

Online

#5 2022-09-28 15:29:16

ahmeteid
Member
Registered: 2022-08-15
Posts: 61

Re: [SOLVED] lost a lot of plugins when replace xfce panel with anthor one

[solved]

ToZ wrote:

I believe Zorin is built on Ubuntu/Debian. These distros have separated the locations of the 32-bit and 64-bit library directories, so when building from source, you need to specify the correct library directory. So for example, you should specify at least the following 2 parameters to the configure/autogen scripts:

  • --prefix=/usr

  • --libdir=/usr/lib/$(uname -m)-linux-gnu

So for example:

./configure --prefix=/usr --libdir=/usr/lib/$(uname -m)-linux-gnu

...and this should put all the files in the correct locations to find them.

Thank u very much, that fixed everything, i want to mark that as solved in title but i can't , so i added tag solved here, thank u again

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB