Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-03 23:32:33

Xscape
Member
Registered: 2013-04-24
Posts: 11

No Auto-Unmount in Thunar?

Hello folks!

Right out, here's the problem scenario:

>> An end user inserts a CD into the system's CDROM drive to be read or written.
>> The volume is automatically mounted by Thunar for the work.
>> When finished, the user then physically ejects and removes the CD from the drive.
>> Thunar/Xfce does not then unmount the media without direct interaction from the desktop or commandline.

This gets totally, absolutely nuts sometimes when one is really busy!

So, what's the setting, workaround, or fix to get Thunar to automatically unmount CD/DVD media which has already been removed from the system???

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2017-07-04 00:31:58

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: USA police-state welfare-state
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 818

Re: No Auto-Unmount in Thunar?

Probably be easiest to instruct the user to use the Eject function instead of pressing the physical button on the device. Also, in theory, safer if user might be writing to the optical media instead of merely reading from it.

I just glanced at https://docs.xfce.org/xfce/thunar/using-removable-media and saw no mention of being able to configure Thunar to automatically sense this. I suppose some sort of device scan would have to be performed periodically. So I cannot say whether the developer considers this situation to be a bug or merely a feature that has not been added. If the situation leads to incorrect information being presented to the user - even though the user must know the true state of affairs, since user just physically ejected the media - I would consider it to be a bug. Maybe you should post about it on Xfce's Bugzilla page.

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#3 2017-07-07 18:16:01

Xscape
Member
Registered: 2013-04-24
Posts: 11

Re: No Auto-Unmount in Thunar?

Thanks, MDM, for the thoughtful reply.

It does indeed seem to be a bug of some kind, whether or not it may be subjectively termed that way.  It's a real breach of UI behavior which would be expected by the common end-user.

On that note, I wanted to do a bug post @ Bugzilla; but it seems as though I'd need to use a publicly-disclosable email address.  This torpedoed my efforts here for now.

Maybe someone else could put this up?

IDK...

Anyway, thanks and cheers --

Offline

#4 2017-07-08 18:51:39

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: USA police-state welfare-state
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 818

Re: No Auto-Unmount in Thunar?

Xscape wrote:

On that note, I wanted to do a bug post @ Bugzilla; but it seems as though I'd need to use a publicly-disclosable email address.  This torpedoed my efforts here for now.

http://slippery.email/
https://maildrop.cc/
https://www.guerrillamail.com/
Et cetera.

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB