Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-28 02:40:27

akovia
Member
Registered: 2011-03-27
Posts: 36

Terminal Drop-Down Position

I don't recall the exact time this started to happen, but now when I start a new instance of terminal when none is open, or if I launch a new tab through a custom action, it always places the terminal window near the middle of my screen. If I close it and open it back up by pressing my hotkey, (F12) it will be placed at the top center where it was always configured to be.



Here's a short vid in case I'm not explaining properly.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2ae0eb4slwhdr … n.mkv?dl=1

Here's my config as well.

[Configuration]
FontName=Bitstream Vera Sans Mono Bold 10
MiscAlwaysShowTabs=FALSE
MiscBell=FALSE
MiscBordersDefault=FALSE
MiscCursorBlinks=TRUE
MiscCursorShape=TERMINAL_CURSOR_SHAPE_IBEAM
MiscDefaultGeometry=180x45
MiscInheritGeometry=FALSE
MiscMenubarDefault=TRUE
MiscMouseAutohide=TRUE
MiscToolbarDefault=FALSE
MiscConfirmClose=TRUE
MiscCycleTabs=TRUE
MiscTabCloseButtons=TRUE
MiscTabCloseMiddleClick=FALSE
MiscTabPosition=GTK_POS_TOP
MiscHighlightUrls=TRUE
ScrollingLines=10000
ColorForeground=#17f018
DropdownKeepOpenDefault=TRUE
DropdownToggleFocus=FALSE
ColorBackgroundVary=TRUE
MiscBellUrgent=TRUE
MiscMouseWheelZoom=TRUE
MiscMiddleClickOpensUri=FALSE
MiscCopyOnSelect=FALSE
MiscDefaultWorkingDir=
MiscRewrapOnResize=TRUE
MiscUseShiftArrowsToScroll=FALSE
MiscSlimTabs=TRUE
MiscNewTabAdjacent=FALSE
MiscShowRelaunchDialog=FALSE
ShortcutsNoHelpkey=TRUE
TitleMode=TERMINAL_TITLE_REPLACE
TextBlinkMode=TERMINAL_TEXT_BLINK_MODE_FOCUSED
DropdownMoveToActive=FALSE
ScrollingUnlimited=TRUE

Thanks for any help.


Arch Linux

Offline

#2 2018-12-28 18:39:27

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,214

Re: Terminal Drop-Down Position

I can't replicate this on my Arch system. Are you using the default package from Arch's repositories or a development version of xfce4-terminal?

Offline

#3 2018-12-28 19:47:03

akovia
Member
Registered: 2011-03-27
Posts: 36

Re: Terminal Drop-Down Position

Just using standard version. Guess it's something on my system alone.

Thanks for having a look!


Arch Linux

Offline

#4 2018-12-29 19:37:19

Misko_2083
Member
Registered: 2015-10-13
Posts: 94
Website

Re: Terminal Drop-Down Position

Maybe you can try Guake terminal http://guake.org/
It like a popup that opens and closes with a keyboard key and has tabs.

Offline

#5 2018-12-29 20:11:01

akovia
Member
Registered: 2011-03-27
Posts: 36

Re: Terminal Drop-Down Position

Misko_2083 wrote:

Maybe you can try Guake terminal http://guake.org/
It like a popup that opens and closes with a keyboard key and has tabs.

Thanks for the suggestion. I've tried most drop down terminals including Guake. I used Tilda for a few years before settling down with xfce. It's not enough of a problem yet to turn me away.

Hopefully a future system update will sort it out, or I'll figure out it was some setting somewhere that didn't play nice. Till then, it's only a minor inconvenience.


Arch Linux

Offline

#6 2018-12-29 21:35:31

ozjd
Member
From: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 508
Website

Re: Terminal Drop-Down Position

You can confirm it is something in your settings by creating a new user and testing there.

Offline

#7 2018-12-30 15:56:49

akovia
Member
Registered: 2011-03-27
Posts: 36

Re: Terminal Drop-Down Position

ozjd wrote:

You can confirm it is something in your settings by creating a new user and testing there.

Confirmed :\


Arch Linux

Offline

#8 Yesterday 15:31:55

akovia
Member
Registered: 2011-03-27
Posts: 36

Re: Terminal Drop-Down Position

Finally got annoyed enough to figure this out.

Turns out this was a gdevilspie rule that referenced an "Untitled window". What's strange is this rule was created back in 2014 and hasn't been changed since.

Pretty sure this was a gdevilspie problem since it should meet all rules to fire and gthumb wasn't running when I experienced this problem, but I'm so glad it's sorted now.

; generated_rule GThumb Overwrite
( if 
( begin 
( is ( application_name ) "gThumb" )
( is ( window_name ) "Untitled window" )
) 
( begin 
( geometry "+200+200" )
( println "match" )
)
)

Arch Linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB