Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-12 19:30:06

pagat
Member
Registered: 2019-09-12
Posts: 10

[SOLVED] Monitors

I am using multiple monitors (3). How to configure monitors left and right?
I can't find Xorg.conf anywhere

Last edited by pagat (2019-09-16 20:59:12)

Offline

#2 2019-09-12 19:45:00

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 137

Re: [SOLVED] Monitors

pagat wrote:

I am using multiple monitors (3). How to configure monitors left and right?
I can't find Xorg.conf anywhere

In your applications menu, select settings, then select "Display"
A pop up window will open showing you connected monitors on the left and options on the right. You can select "use this display", set a display as primary, set the resolution, refresh rate and other things. You will probably want to make sure "Mirror Displays" is turned off.
On the left side of the window which shows a graphical illustration of some screens, you can click and drag the screens into new positions and this will be reflected on how things are displayed on those screens. You can rearrange their order this way, as well.

Last edited by Aravisian (2019-09-12 19:46:04)

Offline

#3 2019-09-12 20:05:29

pagat
Member
Registered: 2019-09-12
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Monitors

Stupid me. Of course, settings. Thanks.

Offline

#4 2019-09-12 21:25:48

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 137

Re: [SOLVED] Monitors

pagat wrote:

Stupid me. Of course, settings. Thanks.

I don't know how many times I have said "If it was a rattlesnake, it woulda got me." A lot more often than I say, "Oh I see it."

Offline

#5 2019-09-13 00:21:33

pagat
Member
Registered: 2019-09-12
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Monitors

One more question. The panel (ribbon) is always on my first monitor. My primary monitor is monitor number 2 and panel always on monitor number 1. Is it posible to move panel to screen 2 or assign number 1 to primary monitor.

Offline

#6 2019-09-13 01:04:56

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 137

Re: [SOLVED] Monitors

pagat wrote:

One more question. The panel (ribbon) is always on my first monitor. My primary monitor is monitor number 2 and panel always on monitor number 1. Is it posible to move panel to screen 2 or assign number 1 to primary monitor.

Either is possible.
Right click your panel and select Panel Preferences. A pop up window will open.  Your panel will have a red dotted border, now.
In that pop up you will see a checkbox with "lock panel" - uncheck it. Handles will appear on the ends of the panel- grab one and drag your panel to whichever monitor or placement suits you.

Under Settings - Display, you can select primary monitor.
I think moving the panel as described is the best way to go, with Primary monitor whichever suits your habits. For me, My primary was the middle monitor with the panel on that middle monitor and the left and right monitors were workbenches.  When my old leftmost monitor exploded in nuclear chaos, I had to reorganize and shuffle a bit.
Sigh- three monitors... It was nice while it lasted.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB