Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-18 01:16:21

capleton
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 5

How to left-click on desktop to bring up menu?

Does anyone know if this is possible?   :?  I know that right-clicking on the desktop will bring up the menu, and that is working fine for me.  But I would also love it if there was a way to set it so that left-clicking does the same thing.  Does anybody have any ideas on this?

I am using Xfce version 4.6.1

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2010-03-18 02:18:40

gnome_refugee
Member
Registered: 2010-01-15
Posts: 164

Re: How to left-click on desktop to bring up menu?

Hi, capleton, great to have another Xfce enthusiast on the forums!

It's easy: just hold down Shift while you left-click on the desktop.

Offline

#3 2010-03-18 03:05:09

capleton
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 5

Re: How to left-click on desktop to bring up menu?

Thank you for your response!

I was aware of that trick (although I must say I had forgotten at the time of my post)   But what I am really looking for is a way to open the menu by only left-clicking (without having to press shift or any other modifier).  Any ideas?

Offline

#4 2010-03-18 03:21:16

gnome_refugee
Member
Registered: 2010-01-15
Posts: 164

Re: How to left-click on desktop to bring up menu?

Hmmm. Can't see it in any of the config files, so either I'm missing it or it's in the code. Pass.

Offline

#5 2010-03-19 00:07:32

s0ulslack
Moderator
From: Idaho
Registered: 2005-12-25
Posts: 291

Re: How to left-click on desktop to bring up menu?

I don't think thats a very common request, and not possible afaik.

Offline

#6 2010-03-19 03:27:24

capleton
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 5

Re: How to left-click on desktop to bring up menu?

I see.  Too bad. 

I was kind of hoping that it would be possible for those situations where a spouse or friend or roommate who is not computer-savvy is using the machine and wanted to, lets say find firefox (or better yet, chrome); then they could simply just click anywhere on the screen and it would bring up the menu.    (as it is, my only panel with launch icons is hidden). 

Anyway, yeah, I guess this situation is pretty low on the "useful" list.  But I think having an option for it could be helpful to some who have spouses or friends that are not computer-savvy, and still want to use the machine. 

Anyway, if anyone finally does find a solution to make this happen, please let me know!    ^-^

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB