Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2006-08-15 06:25:16

maniacmusician
Member
Registered: 2006-08-14
Posts: 9

enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

I have tried to do this, but it hasnt exactly been going all that well.

I add the appropriate code at the end of xorg.conf, and restart x. when I log in, nothing is working right. my mouse becomes a horizontal white rectangle, the menus dont open like they should and pretty much the only thing I can click on is the "quit" button in the top right corner.

Any suggestions? i have searched the forum and tried some of the suggestions, but nothing. This has happened on all the installations on all of my computers. Before, I thought it was just because they were old machines, but this one is a pretty decent one. Celeron D 3.something GHz, 1.5 GBs of RAM, 160GBs of Disk space. Any help would be appreciated

maniacmusician

Offline

#2 2006-08-16 14:07:42

snipeh
Member
From: Jönköping (Sweden)
Registered: 2006-08-11
Posts: 3
Website

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

What kind of gfx card are you using and wich driver have you installed for it..??


*Xubuntu...the way it was meant to be*

Offline

#3 2006-08-16 22:41:11

gras
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-10-30
Posts: 33
Website

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

are there any warnings/errors in your /var/log/Xorg.log ?


[img]http://www.us.debian.org/logos/button-mini.png[/img]

Offline

#4 2006-08-19 18:18:31

wlkngowl
Member
From: Between Heaven and Earth
Registered: 2005-11-11
Posts: 77

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

Offline

#5 2006-08-21 02:30:58

maniacmusician
Member
Registered: 2006-08-14
Posts: 9

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

thanks guys, i'll check those things out. I just got my internet working again (kind of) so dont really have time right now.

snipeh: I'm using an onboard ATI graphics card, and i'm using the official ATI drivers. I downloaded and compiled from their website. works fine for everything else.

I'll check on the other two things in the next couple of days

Offline

#6 2006-08-23 02:36:49

maniacmusician
Member
Registered: 2006-08-14
Posts: 9

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

I checked Xorg.0.log and the only error I saw was that it couldn't find /dev/wacom, and i dont think that has anything to do with this.

wlkngowl: I wanted to use xfwm4, not another compositing manager. i dont want anything too flashy, just a little eyecandy.

Offline

#7 2006-08-25 19:40:22

Marcellus
Member
Registered: 2006-08-25
Posts: 5

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

I have a similar problem, I have a acer notebook with a radeon x700, worked quite fine by now.
Today I decided to upgrade to the xfce beta version for composite, the window manager works fine without composite, but is quite messy when I enable composite in my xorg.conf I have thorn apart windows wen I use composite. That messages are in my xorg.0.log:

(WW) fglrx(0): Specified desktop setup not supported: 20
(WW) fglrx(0): ***********************************************
(WW) fglrx(0): * DRI initialization failed!                  *
(WW) fglrx(0): * (maybe driver kernel module missing or bad) *
(WW) fglrx(0): * 2D acceleraton available (MMIO)             *
(WW) fglrx(0): * no 3D acceleration available                *
(WW) fglrx(0): ********************************************* *

I have 3d acceleration when I haven't enabled composite.

this is at the end of my xorg.0.log

(EE) fglrx(0): === [R200DALSetControllerConfigForRemap] === CWDDC ControllerSetConfig failed: 6 - 0

I hope somebody knows what to do about this I want composite. tia

Offline

#8 2006-08-25 23:22:45

s0ulslack
Moderator
From: Idaho
Registered: 2005-12-25
Posts: 291

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

Theres the problem, fglrx drivers.  Use the open source radeon driver or complain to ATI about their crappy drivers.  From what I recall, its nothing todo with the xfwm4 compositor but the drivers sad

Have fun

Offline

#9 2006-08-26 14:25:30

Marcellus
Member
Registered: 2006-08-25
Posts: 5

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

The problem is the xorg driver doesn't support my chipset afaik and ati gives a shit about their linux users, they give a linux driver from time to time and give 0 suppor. If there is a problem with ati drivers the most common method to handle that is wait for the next one and hope it got fixed. I wanted to ask you if you know something cause the ati guys just dont care and I dont have a clue.

Offline

#10 2006-08-27 18:42:20

maniacmusician
Member
Registered: 2006-08-14
Posts: 9

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

:-( ATI really does blow. I have to buy a laptop soon, and i'm going to make sure that it does NOT have ati chipset or graphics card.

Offline

#11 2006-08-31 07:28:39

thehundredthone
Member
Registered: 2004-02-23
Posts: 32

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

the gentoo/ubuntu forums have xgl/compiz/composite topics which are updated with info about ati drivers. look there are see if maybe frglx can be set up to work for you


Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes
That way, if they get angry, they're a mile away and barefoot

Offline

#12 2006-09-02 04:30:37

maniacmusician
Member
Registered: 2006-08-14
Posts: 9

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

oh believe me, i've tried. I've searched for a long time, posted asking for help, but it seems unsolvable. I've discovered this:

When i use the open source drivers, I can enable composite without screwing up X. BUT, my system reports that the open source driver does not support acceleration, so it's not performing good enough to even use compositing. so thats useless.

when i use the proprietary drivers, i think i have acceleration, but if i enable compositing, everything gets f*cked up.

its really a hopeless situation.

Offline

#13 2006-09-02 06:12:45

thehundredthone
Member
Registered: 2004-02-23
Posts: 32

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

i guess you'll have to live with it for a while
otherwise just keep at it until you come up with a hybrid solution of your own

when i first tried to enable composite for my intel 865 onboard graphics it was a nightmare. mesa would revert to indirect rendering, and then the composite would be so freaking slow! i messed around, looked into mailing lists, RTFM  cool , and somehow found a way to get it working for me. too bad it's not fast enough for daily use.


Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes
That way, if they get angry, they're a mile away and barefoot

Offline

#14 2006-09-02 18:23:43

maniacmusician
Member
Registered: 2006-08-14
Posts: 9

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

heh yeah. someone posted a solution (its kind of odd but it might work). he said that when he updated the ati proprietary driver straight from 8.25 to 8.28, it didnt work properly. But when he went from 8.25 to 8.27 to 8.28, it worked. so i'm going to try that. I'm trying to find the 8.25 drivers right now lol.

Offline

#15 2006-09-02 22:07:34

maniacmusician
Member
Registered: 2006-08-14
Posts: 9

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

update: i tried it, and that didnt work. i still can't enable composite. ati really needs to get their act together. or at least go open source so someone else can make a decent driver.

Offline

#16 2006-09-03 07:15:01

thehundredthone
Member
Registered: 2004-02-23
Posts: 32

Re: enabling the compositor (Xubuntu 6.06)

maniacmusician wrote:

heh yeah. someone posted a solution (its kind of odd but it might work). he said that when he updated the ati proprietary driver straight from 8.25 to 8.28, it didnt work properly. But when he went from 8.25 to 8.27 to 8.28, it worked. so i'm going to try that. I'm trying to find the 8.25 drivers right now lol.

yikes  :-X

desperate times call for desperate measures, eh?


Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes
That way, if they get angry, they're a mile away and barefoot

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB