Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-22 01:08:41

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 279
Website

System upgrade b0rk XFCE

I just upgraded my laptop (not my desktop, thank Ghod) from Fedora 14 to 16.  Now, compiz-fusion refuses to start, leaving me with no WM.  I can run the settings manager, but if I click on anything, it goes away.  If I try to run fusion-icon in a terminal, it eventually says that it can't find .gtkrc-2.0-gnome-color-chooser (I think) and dies.  However, if I create a new user and log in with XFCE, it works.  I'm presuming that there's something bad in my configuration, but I don't know what, or where to look.  I need to have my laptop running by Wednesday night, if possible, to take to a convention, and I'm not upgrading my desktop until this is fixed.  Any suggestions?


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#2 2011-11-22 02:44:17

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 279
Website

Re: System upgrade b0rk XFCE

Slight progress: I ran xfwm4 & from a terminal and have a window manager again, with four workspaces.  Compiz still fails to start, but it's better than it was.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#3 2011-11-22 05:54:50

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 279
Website

Re: System upgrade b0rk XFCE

Looking through .xsession-errors, I found this:

fusion-icon: error: option -s: invalid integer value: 'ession'

This may be what's wrong, but I've no idea how to find which file it's in.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#4 2011-11-22 21:47:14

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 279
Website

Re: System upgrade b0rk XFCE

Major correction: I just thought my alternate login was running compiz; it wasn't.  And, when I run this:

fusion-icon -v &

I get this:

[joe@barrayar Documents]$  * Detected Session: xfce
* Searching for installed applications...
-- /usr/bin/compiz
-- /usr/bin/metacity
-- /usr/bin/xfwm4
-- /usr/bin/gtk-window-decorator
-- /usr/bin/ccsm
* Opening CompizConfig context
Backend     : ini
Integration : true
Profile     : default
Initializing decor options...done
* No GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap with direct rendering context
... present with indirect rendering, exporting: LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1
* Using the GTK Interface
* Interface not installed
... Trying another interface
* Using the Qt4 Interface

...and when I press Enter, I'm notified of a Segmentation Fault in fusion-icon.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#5 2011-11-22 23:40:53

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 279
Website

Re: System upgrade b0rk XFCE

This has now been reported to Bugzilla as https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=756209  There are a number of similar bugs, but I seem to be the first one to report it for Fedora 16.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#6 2011-12-03 13:45:16

Ion Silverbolt
Member
Registered: 2010-01-14
Posts: 28

Re: System upgrade b0rk XFCE

I imagine an old configuration file is preventing it from working if it works fine as a new user. Look for a config directory in your home folder. It will be hidden, so you'll have to hit ctrl+h in thunar.  Delete or rename the old config directory, and compiz should make new config files. I think it's under .gconf/system in the home folder. Rename or delete the compiz-1 and compizconfig-1 folders, then try to rerun compiz.

You might also check under .config as well.

Last edited by Ion Silverbolt (2011-12-03 13:48:03)

Offline

#7 2011-12-03 19:18:20

Sideburns
Member
From: Camarillo, CA
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 279
Website

Re: System upgrade b0rk XFCE

I'd already done that, long ago.  Didn't do the slightest bit of good.  That's why I reported it as a bug.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB