Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-15 23:59:09

ComputerBob
Member
From: The Sunshine State
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

[Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I just upgraded my main Debian Wheezy PC from Xfce 4.6 to 4.8 this morning.

Since then, I've noticed a very annoying issue with Thunar.

The first time I run Thunar after a new boot, it takes 30 seconds to appear.

And then, about 10 seconds later, a second instance of Thunar appears.

If I close Thunar and then open it again, it opens instantly, every single time -- during that same session.

But as soon as I shut down and then restart my PC, the first time I run Thunar, the slowness and double-starting happens again.

I've seen sporadic posts about this same problem in other forums, so, on the advice in one of them, I deleted ~/.config/Thunar. On my next boot, my system re-created that folder, but the long delay and double-starting happened again.

Solutions:

1) Edit /usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount and change AutoMount=true to AutoMount=false
2) Upgrade to Thunar 1.6.0 which fixes the issue.

I (ComputerBob) did not mark this thread as "solved." One of the mods added the boldface text above and marked this thread "solved," even though it is still not solved for me, two years later. Please see the following message for details: http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?pid=29727#p29727

Last edited by ComputerBob (2013-07-24 03:08:11)


ComputerBob - Making Geek-Speak Chic (TM)
http://www.ComputerBob.com
My New Ministry

Offline

#2 2011-05-16 00:49:38

Anzhr
Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 72

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I'm using 4.8 on Wheezy as well and Thunar is blazing fast, especially opening smb shares.

Offline

#3 2011-05-16 01:05:37

ComputerBob
Member
From: The Sunshine State
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I'm happy for you.


ComputerBob - Making Geek-Speak Chic (TM)
http://www.ComputerBob.com
My New Ministry

Offline

#4 2011-05-16 06:29:52

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,144
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

Offline

#5 2011-05-16 11:31:55

ComputerBob
Member
From: The Sunshine State
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

Nick, was the problem caused because I UPGRADED Xfce 4.6 to 4.8, instead of installing 4.8 from scratch? Google searches seem to indicate that it affects very few users.

So, since I'm not a programmer, I'll  have to either wait for a dev to figure out a fix for one or more packages before this problem will go away or reinstall Xfce 4.8 from scratch, and hope that the problem won't come back in the reinstall?


ComputerBob - Making Geek-Speak Chic (TM)
http://www.ComputerBob.com
My New Ministry

Offline

#6 2011-05-16 14:16:20

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,144
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

Depends per-system why gvfs takes so long. I have this too only my pc, but haven't figured out where it takes so long. Doesn't depend on how you installed Xfce.

Offline

#7 2011-05-16 14:58:58

ComputerBob
Member
From: The Sunshine State
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I'm at work right now, but later, when I get home, I was planning to take a suggestion that I got in the Debian forums -- start Thunar from a root terminal. If the problem doesn't appear, then it must be caused by something that's in my user's /home folder.

BTW, I'm sorry, but it makes me feel better to know that the problem affects you, too.  wink

Last edited by ComputerBob (2011-05-16 14:59:43)


ComputerBob - Making Geek-Speak Chic (TM)
http://www.ComputerBob.com
My New Ministry

Offline

#8 2011-05-16 16:38:42

MagnusBerg
Member
Registered: 2004-12-17
Posts: 45

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I had the same problem - 30 seconds to start Thunar - on Debian Sid some time ago.
After that I uninstalled the 'gvfs-backends' Thunar start in 2-3 seconds. But if you need the gvfs-backends this solution is to no help for your.

Offline

#9 2011-05-16 16:57:40

ComputerBob
Member
From: The Sunshine State
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

New information: I just rebooted my system, opened a terminal, and started Thunar as root.

No delay. No duplicate Thunars.

Then I shut down Thunar, exited the terminal and started Thunar as user.

30-second delay. And ten seconds later, a second Thunar opened.

It sure looks to me like t it's got to be caused by something that's in my normal user's profile.

Last edited by ComputerBob (2011-05-16 16:59:36)


ComputerBob - Making Geek-Speak Chic (TM)
http://www.ComputerBob.com
My New Ministry

Offline

#10 2011-05-25 08:10:49

Nice&Gently
Member
From: Berlin, old europe
Registered: 2011-05-22
Posts: 26

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I'm using fedora 15 with xfce and i have exatcly the same isue.
Starting thunar the first time as a normal user takes some time (15 sec), and starting thunar from a root terminal works perfect.

Edit:
Uninstalling gvfs-smb-1.8.1-2.fc15.x86_64.rpm, because i don't needed really samba-support, fixed the isue for me.
Thunar starts real quick now.

Last edited by Nice&Gently (2011-05-25 08:50:36)


Life's too short for boring desktops

Offline

#11 2011-05-26 00:20:18

ComputerBob
Member
From: The Sunshine State
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

Nice&Gently wrote:

I'm using fedora 15 with xfce and i have exatcly the same isue.
Starting thunar the first time as a normal user takes some time (15 sec), and starting thunar from a root terminal works perfect.

Edit:
Uninstalling gvfs-smb-1.8.1-2.fc15.x86_64.rpm, because i don't needed really samba-support, fixed the isue for me.
Thunar starts real quick now.

I'm using Debian Wheezy, which doesn't have a gvfs-smb package, but it does have a few other gvfs and samba (and smb) files installed, even though I don't use samba.


ComputerBob - Making Geek-Speak Chic (TM)
http://www.ComputerBob.com
My New Ministry

Offline

#12 2011-05-26 05:39:45

Nick
Dev
From: ~
Registered: 2005-02-17
Posts: 1,144
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

The network delay has been resolved in git: http://git.xfce.org/xfce/thunar/commit/ … bddc946c27

Offline

#13 2011-05-26 12:23:26

ComputerBob
Member
From: The Sunshine State
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

Well that's great news!  wink


ComputerBob - Making Geek-Speak Chic (TM)
http://www.ComputerBob.com
My New Ministry

Offline

#14 2011-11-01 01:24:27

egsome
Member
Registered: 2011-11-01
Posts: 1

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I really suffer from that problem, Anyway to fix it ?, Or must wait for the update ?

Offline

#15 2011-11-02 22:59:20

jannis
Moderator
Registered: 2011-06-09
Posts: 19
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

The fix I applied was reverted as it caused other problems. Unfortunately, fixing this properly requires major changes under the hood. It'll thus only be resolved in one of the upcoming development releases.

Offline

#16 2011-11-14 21:26:41

mike555
Member
Registered: 2011-08-01
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I had that problem and fixed it by ; 

, I opened Thunar, clicked File > Properties>Permissions> then set my group to have read&write permissions .......

Offline

#17 2012-01-17 19:31:54

lifeinthegrey
Member
From: Seattle
Registered: 2012-01-17
Posts: 52

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I had a similar problem, but after installing preload (apt-get install preload), thunar starts up quickly as it should.

Edit: totally wasn't the savior, turns out that only helped when I wasn't on my network with NFS ... once back on the home network, it returned. I did find a solution on the archlinux forums which helped:

sudo mousepad (or leafpad, or gedit, or whatever) /usr/shares/gvfs/mounts/network.mount, and set AutoMount=false

The problem is the way that Thunar initially gets the network files, and by preventing AutoMount from occurring on first load, it never tries to. The thing is, when you try to access your Network through Thunar AFTER you open it up (by clicking on Network), that same 30-second delay occurs ... but at least now it doesn't do it every time you load. It also obviously does not affect fstab, so your existing fstab mounts will work on boot as per usual.

This totally actually does work.

Last edited by lifeinthegrey (2012-01-17 21:59:53)


oh, you want eXtremely Fast Computing? thats Easy ...

Offline

#18 2012-01-21 02:00:22

wzyboy
Member
Registered: 2012-01-21
Posts: 1

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

lifeinthegrey wrote:

sudo mousepad (or leafpad, or gedit, or whatever) /usr/shares/gvfs/mounts/network.mount, and set AutoMount=false

The problem is the way that Thunar initially gets the network files, and by preventing AutoMount from occurring on first load, it never tries to. The thing is, when you try to access your Network through Thunar AFTER you open it up (by clicking on Network), that same 30-second delay occurs ... but at least now it doesn't do it every time you load. It also obviously does not affect fstab, so your existing fstab mounts will work on boot as per usual.

This totally actually does work.


Thanks a lot!

I have exactly the same issue with you on my newly-installed Xubuntu 11.10. I tried start thunar as daemon on session start and remove some samba-related packages. None of those methods works. After set AutoMount=false, Thunar launches super fast after a cold reboot! Now the "Network" shortcut will be "crossed" (unreachable) on the first time Thunar launches, but will work normally after clicking it and wait for some time. Who minds? :-)

Thanks again!

Offline

#19 2012-01-21 16:53:43

ComputerBob
Member
From: The Sunshine State
Registered: 2010-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

wzyboy wrote:

Now the "Network" shortcut will be "crossed" (unreachable) on the first time Thunar launches, but will work normally after clicking it and wait for some time. Who minds? :-)

I mind.  wink


ComputerBob - Making Geek-Speak Chic (TM)
http://www.ComputerBob.com
My New Ministry

Offline

#20 2012-01-21 16:56:11

lifeinthegrey
Member
From: Seattle
Registered: 2012-01-17
Posts: 52

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

ComputerBob wrote:
wzyboy wrote:

Now the "Network" shortcut will be "crossed" (unreachable) on the first time Thunar launches, but will work normally after clicking it and wait for some time. Who minds? :-)

I mind.  wink

Haha noted. If you use network shares that way a LOT, then yeah ... you still need to wait the 30 seconds. But at the very least, it does solve the "second instance" issue you referred to (I had it to).


oh, you want eXtremely Fast Computing? thats Easy ...

Offline

#21 2012-01-24 09:39:35

kholis
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 5

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

lifeinthegrey wrote:

sudo mousepad (or leafpad, or gedit, or whatever) /usr/shares/gvfs/mounts/network.mount, and set AutoMount=false

Thanks. It works for me too smile

Offline

#22 2012-07-25 13:32:35

vinay427
Member
Registered: 2012-07-25
Posts: 1

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

lifeinthegrey wrote:

I had a similar problem, but after installing preload (apt-get install preload), thunar starts up quickly as it should.

Edit: totally wasn't the savior, turns out that only helped when I wasn't on my network with NFS ... once back on the home network, it returned. I did find a solution on the archlinux forums which helped:

sudo mousepad (or leafpad, or gedit, or whatever) /usr/shares/gvfs/mounts/network.mount, and set AutoMount=false

The problem is the way that Thunar initially gets the network files, and by preventing AutoMount from occurring on first load, it never tries to. The thing is, when you try to access your Network through Thunar AFTER you open it up (by clicking on Network), that same 30-second delay occurs ... but at least now it doesn't do it every time you load. It also obviously does not affect fstab, so your existing fstab mounts will work on boot as per usual.

This totally actually does work.

At least for me, the path to network.mount was /usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.d, as opposed to "shares." I'm on kernel 3.5.0 on Arch, which might explain the difference.

Offline

#23 2012-09-02 17:35:21

marcs
Member
Registered: 2012-08-30
Posts: 3

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

Quick fix for lifeinthegrey's post: yes, indeed, network.mount file edit solves the problem, but this is the right location:
<code>/usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount</code>

Offline

#24 2012-10-01 15:04:37

lifeinthegrey
Member
From: Seattle
Registered: 2012-01-17
Posts: 52

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

Sorry, should have mentioned that I was using Debian.


oh, you want eXtremely Fast Computing? thats Easy ...

Offline

#25 2012-12-07 04:27:13

wisemagic
Member
Registered: 2011-09-17
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] Thunar takes 30 seconds to start the first time

I had the same problem on LinuxMint Debian. I finally installed PCManFM, made it the default file manager and never looked back.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB