Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-13 12:36:02

Clio
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 58

Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

hello all,

is it possible, to change the yellow background color of the root-warning to another color?
I have search the code in thunar-window.c, but I can't find it.

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2017-07-13 13:16:59

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,790

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

This still works for me on 1.6.12. Make sure you create the correct png file and that you call thunar using the command posted there.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#3 2017-07-13 14:29:42

Clio
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 58

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

Hello ToZ,

thanks for your quickly answer.
Which png file do you mean?

Offline

#4 2017-07-13 15:07:33

Jerry3904
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 549

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

...note: you need a red.png file in your home directory thats basically a 50x20 square of the colour red (or any other colour that you want as a background).


MX-16 (based on Debian Stable) with Xfce 4.12.

Offline

#5 2017-07-13 15:25:15

Clio
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 58

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

Is this the correct path?
/home/user/red.png
or
/home/user/.config/Thunar/red.png

Both variants are failed.

Sorry for my bad english, it's not my native language.

Offline

#6 2017-07-13 17:20:24

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,790

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

Put the both the red.png and the .gtkrc-thunar-rootfile files in your home directory. Note that red.png is a png file that you create yourself that is 50x20 in size and is coloured red. You can change the colour to whatever colour you want to use.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#7 2017-07-13 18:40:40

Clio
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 58

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

Thanks for your answer.
I give up.
I dont know the content for .gtkrc-thunar-rootfile, and a search in xfce wiki or google brings no help.

Offline

#8 2017-07-13 19:16:45

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,790

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

Clio wrote:

Thanks for your answer.
I give up.
I dont know the content for .gtkrc-thunar-rootfile, and a search in xfce wiki or google brings no help.

It's in the previous thread located here.

Specifically:

1. Create the file .gtkrc-thunar-rootfile in your home directory with the following content:

style "my-infobar" {

  xthickness	= 4
  ythickness	= 4

  engine "pixmap" {

    image {
      function = BOX
      state = NORMAL
      file = "red.png"
      border = { 4, 4, 4, 4 }
      stretch = TRUE
    }

    image {
      function = BOX
      state = PRELIGHT
      file = "red.png"
      border = { 4, 4, 4, 4 }
      stretch = TRUE
    }

    image {
      function = BOX
      state = ACTIVE
      file = "red.png"
      border = { 4, 4, 4, 4 }
      stretch = TRUE
    }

    image {
      function = BOX
      state = INSENSITIVE
      file = "red.png"
      border = { 4, 4, 4, 4 }
      stretch = TRUE
    }
  }
}
widget_class "*<GtkInfoBar>*" style "my-infobar"

2. Also create the red.png file in your home directory.

3. Then, call root thunar like this:

gksudo env GTK2_RC_FILES=~/.gtkrc-thunar-root thunar

How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#9 2017-07-14 14:45:28

Clio
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 58

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

Hello ToZ,

now I am ashamed, I had completely forgotten this.
At that time, however, it had also not functioned, and now it also does not function.
It is a Debian Sid, I have removed Thunar and new installed. Unfortunately no success.

Then I've thunar new compiled and in thunar-window.c the questions on 0 to 1 changed:
if (G_UNLIKELY (geteuid () == 1))

Now it is as well as me it wants.
Two screenshots are added.

Again many thanks for your help.


cdxjap5o.png
bqcpg82c.png

Offline

#10 2017-07-14 16:58:17

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,790

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

By changing the code like that , you've removed the "running as root" indicator. Be careful when using thunar - you won't have a visual indicator that you have root access to your files. Might be dangerous.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#11 2017-07-14 17:43:21

Clio
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 58

Re: Thunar 1.6.12 - root warning

Yes, I know that, but I use linux more than 15 years and know what I make.
This is no option for beginners...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB