Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-03-28 14:24:56

caiosabadin
Member
Registered: 2018-03-28
Posts: 3

Dual monitors mirrored, show up as "default"

Hello!

I've recently installed Debian 9 with the XFCE 4.12. I have two monitors, and both them are working fine, except because they are mirrored. But when I call xfce4-display-settings to change that, both my monitors are showing up as one, called "default" --- therefore, there's no option not display them as mirrored monitors, since both them are being taken as one.

This issue is very similar to the one described on this topic, although the outputs of some of the commands I execute are slightly different. For example, the content of my ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml is the following:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<channel name="displays" version="1.0">
  <property name="Default" type="empty">
    <property name="default" type="string" value="default">
      <property name="Active" type="bool" value="true"/>
      <property name="Resolution" type="string" value="1920x1080"/>
      <property name="RefreshRate" type="double" value="0.000000"/>
      <property name="Rotation" type="int" value="0"/>
      <property name="Reflection" type="string" value="0"/>
      <property name="Primary" type="bool" value="false"/>
      <property name="Position" type="empty">
        <property name="X" type="int" value="0"/>
        <property name="Y" type="int" value="0"/>
      </property>
    </property>
  </property>
  <property name="Notify" type="bool" value="false"/>
</channel>

And there's also:

$ lspci -k | grep -A2 VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Oland XT [Radeon HD 8670 / R7 250/350] (rev 83)
	Subsystem: Dell Oland XT [Radeon HD 8670 / R7 250/350]
	Kernel modules: radeon

Xrandr only output one monitor as well:

$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 1920 x 1080
default connected 1920x1080+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1920x1080      0.00* 
   1280x1024      0.00  
   1024x768       0.00  
   800x600        0.00  
   640x480        0.00  

Any idea why this is happening?

Offline

#2 2018-03-28 15:13:30

caiosabadin
Member
Registered: 2018-03-28
Posts: 3

Re: Dual monitors mirrored, show up as "default"

Apparently, it was a driver issue. After running:

sudo apt install firmware-linux-nonfree

Everything's worked as expected. Sorry for the disturb.

Offline

#3 2018-03-28 15:59:14

alcornoqui
Member
Registered: 2014-07-28
Posts: 268

Re: Dual monitors mirrored, show up as "default"

Don't be sorry, no disruption...

How did you realize that would fix the problem?

Offline

#4 2018-04-06 13:58:26

caiosabadin
Member
Registered: 2018-03-28
Posts: 3

Re: Dual monitors mirrored, show up as "default"

alcornoqui wrote:

Don't be sorry, no disruption...

How did you realize that would fix the problem?

A friend suggested me so, since Debian has some issues with proprietary drivers.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB