Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-04-09 05:46:28

poltiser

unecessary program links and dependencies

I am not an IT engineer just a user of Linux. If I am not very clear my background is not technical. I try to explain what I want to say.
In wonderful system of XFCE I found many dependencies between the ordinary programs like dictionary - and the system components. Can we change that in next version of xfce?
Recently removing something like that I accidentally removed half of the system... in Xubuntu. It was not a tragic event as in 1 hour I was back and running, but it happens...

Is it possible to clearly separate what is "the system" and what is "the program"? Some elements like "other languages inputs" or "accessibility" should be present as optional - to be used by those who need them, and to be removable if one needs more space instead...

Best regards and thank you for fantastic job

#2 2016-04-09 15:12:07

sixsixfive
Website

Re: unecessary program links and dependencies

This has nothing to-do with Xfce, its an issue with you distribution that added all those dependencies on compilation, in fact xfce itself req. only a few dependencies (http://docs.xfce.org/xfce/building#xfce … ency_chain).

If you don't like it use a distribution has no dependency management in its package management like plain slackware...

Last edited by sixsixfive (2016-04-09 15:12:59)

#3 2016-04-09 15:53:32

poltiser

Thank you - I did not know that this behaviour is distribution related.

#4 2016-04-10 03:27:58

MountainDewManiac

Could these "dependencies" be meta-packages?

Regards,
MDM

Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

#5 2016-04-10 04:42:34

poltiser

not in a case of "dictionary" = xfce4-dict

#6 2016-04-10 05:20:48

MountainDewManiac

MountainDewManiac wrote:

Could these "dependencies" be meta-packages?

poltiser wrote:

not in a case of "dictionary" = xfce4-dict